FedoraForum.org

FedoraForum.org (http://forums.fedoraforum.org/index.php)
-   Guides & Solutions (No Questions) (http://forums.fedoraforum.org/forumdisplay.php?f=12)
-   -   How to use YUM to install and uninstall packages (http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showthread.php?t=25880)

imdeemvp 1st November 2004 11:05 AM

How to use YUM to install and uninstall packages
 
Introduction

To update the system applying the most recent corrective patches of security and to the operating system is not as difficult as many do not suppose, nor either must be a hell of dependencies between packages RPM as some others argue. The reality of the things is that it is much very simple and single requires of good bandwidth or very many patience. Next we presented/displayed the procedures to use yum and to make easily what some denominate "horrible, difficult and complicated ".

Please note there are some changes that apply to Fedora Core 3. You will need to install GPG Key for yum in FC3.

Creating Yum Repo's For FC3.

To update system. Update of the system with all the dependencies that are necessary:
Code:

yum update
Searches. To make a search of some package or term in the data base in some of the formed deposits yum in the system:
Code:

yum search any-package
Example:
Code:

yum search httpd
I hope this will help you understand how to use yum more effeciently. Any erros in this how please notify me.
Consultation of information. To consult the information contained in a package in individual:
Code:

yum info any-package
Example:
Code:

yum info httpd
Installation of packages. Installation of paquetería with automatic resolution of dependencies:
Code:

yum install any-package
Example.
Code:

yum install gkrellm
Uninstalling packages. Desinstalación of packages along with everything what it depends on these:
Code:

yum remove any-package
Example.
Code:

yum remove gkrellm
Listing Packages. The following thing will list all the packages available in the data base yum and that can settle:
Code:

available yum list|less
The following thing will list all the packages installed in the system:
Code:

yum list installed|less
The following thing will list all the packages installed in the system and that can (they must) be updated:
Code:

yum list updates|less
Cleaning of the system.

Yum leaves as result of its use heads and packages RPM stored in the interior of the directory located in the route /var/cache/yum/. Particularly the packages RPM that have settled can occupy much space and is by such reason agrees to eliminate them once no longer they have utility. Also it agrees to do the same with the old heads of packages that no longer are in the data base. In order to make the corresponding cleaning, the following thing can be executed:
Code:

yum clean all
Group install
Code:

yum groupinstall "groupname"
Dont forget the quotation marks for group install.

I hope this will help you understand how to use yum more effeciently. I did this for our newbies that may want to uninstall packages which is not mention in the fedora FAQ. For more info on yum go here: http://www.fedorafaq.org/#installsoftware

ilja 1st November 2004 11:16 AM

Great howto.
One tip, you can use also joker-signs as * or ? e.g.
Code:

yum install gkrellm*
will install gkrellm, gkrellm-plugins, gkrellm-misc-plugins etc.

And to install/remove you have to be root! Not for searching.

imdeemvp 1st November 2004 11:43 AM

Thanks for the tip. ;)

foolish 1st November 2004 02:02 PM

Here's more:

To search in package names only, use yum list. This differs from search in that it's much faster, as it will search package names only, while yum search will search all the package info, including package description.
Code:

yum list something
Example
Code:

yum list mozilla
To get the name of the package containing a given file:
Code:

yum provides filename
example:
Code:

yum provides /usr/bin/mozilla
Here's some new goodies in yum 2.2 (Fedora Core 3 and beyond)

To get a list of packages updated/added to any of your repositories recently:
Code:

yum list recent
To enable a repository which is disabled in the configuration:
Code:

yum --enablerepo=reponame install packagename
example
Code:

yum --enablerepo=dag install j2re
To list available software groups, such as GNOME desktop environment or X window system. This is also available in the Core 2 yum, but servers doesn't use this wonderful feature much.
Code:

yum grouplist
To install such a group:
Code:

yum groupinstall "groupname"
Example:
Code:

yum groupinstall "GNOME Desktop Environment"
And to update a group
Code:

yum groupupdate "GNOME Desktop Environment"

And remember folks, you can always use -y to say yes to everything, and -C to use the cache only.

imdeemvp 2nd November 2004 08:40 AM

Thanks again for the add-ons. :)

sayeeth 2nd November 2004 09:19 AM

YUM is a delicious treat indeed. I never knew it had so much to it. Thanks imdeemvp and foolish! :)

tashirosgt 8th November 2004 05:06 PM

Whoever gave that recommendation to the effect that "here are the only three repositories that yout need to get all the good add-ons", please repeat it here. I didn't find it by searching the forum messages.

ewinandar 9th November 2004 05:48 AM

Thanx for the kind to share this information :-)

regards,
newbie

ewinandar 13th November 2004 03:50 AM

got problem using yum
 
Dear All,
since i'm a newbie :-)

I've got problem when using yum command.

The error seems because of need to connect to www.redhat.fedora.
is it suppoused to connect?

imdeemvp 13th November 2004 09:12 AM

ewinandar, to do your updates you need to have an internet connection...do you?

loninappleton 14th November 2004 10:32 PM

why do my yum requests always hang?

I have tried to yum specific files repeatedly and the progress bar just hangs: no error shown with things
like 1 sec ETA.


Distro is Fedora Core2




What is going on with this?


thanks


lon@athenet.net

imdeemvp 14th November 2004 11:07 PM

It happens to everyone not just use. I get that a lot and I have a dsl connection. If i see stay there for more then 10 mins. than I close terminal and restart yum update or whatever.

ewinandar 17th November 2004 02:43 AM

So i have to connect to internet in order to be able to use yum.

Thanx for the info.

imdeemvp 17th November 2004 09:52 AM

Yes, you have to be connected to keep your system up to date.

Tru 17th November 2004 02:56 PM

Hey imdeemvp and loniappleton, I also had same problem in fc2, but now in fc3 with the way they have yum working it is much faster and it rarley if ever hangs it is very nice I remeber with fc2 usally it always hung on the first try.


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:51 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.