Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 21st May 2008, 05:33 AM
Wayne
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Error installing latest Symphony beta / Symphony 1 released

As I still have a few Wordpro for OS/2 documents to convert I downloaded the latest IBM/Lotus Symphony beta 4 (Twice!) It fails to install with:

Code:
[root@Beerislife Download]# ./IBM_Lotus_Symphony_linux.bin

   IBM Lotus Symphony Beta - starting installation... please wait

mktemp: too few X's in template `/tmp/symphony.tmp6542'
tar: option requires an argument -- C
Try `tar --help' or `tar --usage' for more information.
./IBM_Lotus_Symphony_linux.bin: line 23: ./setup.bin: No such file or directory
This is not the (in)famous SELinux/Java problem, SELinux is disabled here.

Any clues before I search my old CDs/DVDs to see if I have an older version...?

Wayne
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 21st May 2008, 07:40 AM
Wayne
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Once again, Google comes to the rescue.... and the answer is.......:

#sed -i s/" \/tmp\/symphony.tmp\$RANDOM"/""/ IBM_Lotus_Symphony_linux.bin

The answer was actually on the Symphony support forum.... Now I know where to look in future..... until I forget

http://symphony.lotus.com/software/l...=6169&tstart=0

Wayne

Last edited by Wayne; 3rd June 2008 at 07:53 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 23rd May 2008, 02:26 AM
Wayne
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
If you try Symphony beta 4 and get an error box on start-up along the lines of:

"Could not initialise the application's security component.... blah, blah, blah"

It's a bug in Eclipse and the answer is to:

mkdir ~/.mozilla/eclipse

Edit: for those unsure how to install Symphony, download the 'bin' file, open a Terminal, su to root and navigate to where the downloaded file is located and then type:

# ./IBM_Lotus_Symphony_linux.bin

Wayne

Last edited by Wayne; 23rd May 2008 at 02:30 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 3rd June 2008, 01:42 AM
Wayne
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
I've renamed the title of this thread slightly to reflect the fact that Symphony 1 has been released by IBM.... Grab it while it's hot! Downloads are a tad slow though. Available in several languages.

http://symphony.lotus.com/software/l...hony/home.jspa

It's free but you have to register.

Edit: The fixes above still apply

Wayne

Last edited by Wayne; 3rd June 2008 at 02:19 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 3rd June 2008, 03:12 AM
Wayne
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Forget it, this is typical IBM second-rate rubbish. Firstly, the fix above doesn't work on Release 1, so you have to edit the bin file with vi to change the 'tmp' directory. When you've done that, the install proceeds normally.... until it goes to install. My /opt size is 2Gb with over 1Gb free, the installer says it needs 523Mb of free space, but then goes on to report that it needs 1Gb... then bombs..... Better to stick with OpenOffice.

Edit: OK. I finally installed it in /usr/local/ibm

It's obviously a tad faster than the betas but on my ancient hardware is no speed demon... If you like mucking about with vi, give it a shot

I'll probably uninstall it, then remove something from /opt (Google Earth) and try and install it there, then reinstall Google Earth...

Wayne
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot-Installation wizard for IBM Lotus Symphony-1.png
Views:	264
Size:	51.2 KB
ID:	16269   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot.png
Views:	284
Size:	374.0 KB
ID:	16270  

Last edited by Wayne; 3rd June 2008 at 03:56 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 3rd June 2008, 05:16 AM
Wayne
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Since posting here and reporting on the support forum, I've been told that the tmp directory bug has been fixed to:

mktemp -df /tmp/

That probably means I won't need to remove anything from /opt and it should install just fine with no changes if you download a fresh copy.

Someone else has reported that the Web Browser part hangs in Fedora 9, which also happens here. As they officially do not support Fedora, don't hold your breath for a fix...

http://www.fedoraforum.org/gallery/s...cutoffdate=all

Wayne

Last edited by Wayne; 3rd June 2008 at 07:53 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 4th June 2008, 02:50 AM
Wayne
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
The reason why the browser part of Symphony hangs is that it relies on xulrunner from the Firefox 1.5.x series, so you have to install Firefox 1.5.x for it to work. They support RH 5 which ships with FF 1. Once again, IBM drop the ball! No one uses that ancient browser any more! Or shouldn't be!

Wayne
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
beta, error, installing, latest, released, symphony

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anybody play with IBM's Lotus Symphony? Silpheed2K Fedora Focus 10 9th June 2009 12:07 PM
Lotus Symphony 1.2 in Fedora 10 86x64 srgazh Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 5 14th January 2009 02:10 PM
IBM Symphony? tho.mei Using Fedora 7 15th October 2007 11:25 AM
Lotus Symphony -- SELinux preventing install? Murrquan Using Fedora 5 14th October 2007 01:59 AM
Silent Symphony geminiguy Linux Chat 6 6th August 2007 03:22 AM


Current GMT-time: 09:28 (Thursday, 18-12-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Tobang Photos - MBO Cinema, Citta Mall Travel Photos on Instagram - Florence , South Carolina - Arx Bella Berry Travel Photos on Instagram - Forbes Photos on Instagram