Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 18th February 2011, 08:50 AM
satishj Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: 19.2361N 73.1583E
Posts: 59
windows_xp_2003firefox
"Waiting in Queue" annoyance in F14

Whenever i open Add/Remove softwares in Fedora14, bottom left pane of thw window shows this message "Waiting in queue".no packages are displayed and it makes package manager useless.
This same meesage is displayed if i open 'software sources' from system-->preferences
Any idea how to solve this??
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 18th February 2011, 09:22 AM
giulix Offline
"Fixed" by (vague) request
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: GMT+ 1
Posts: 2,950
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: "Waiting in Queue" annoyance in F14

Yes, open the System Monitor (Applications->System Tools->System Monitor) or a terminal and kill the Packagekit instance that is idling and stopping concurrent instances from running
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 21st February 2011, 08:06 AM
satishj Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: 19.2361N 73.1583E
Posts: 59
windows_xp_2003firefox
Re: "Waiting in Queue" annoyance in F14

But,there is no such process with name 'PackageKit' running in background???
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 21st February 2011, 09:23 AM
giulix Offline
"Fixed" by (vague) request
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: GMT+ 1
Posts: 2,950
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: "Waiting in Queue" annoyance in F14

Weird... Have you not rebooted since last week? Could you please post the output of
Code:
ps -ef |egrep -i 'yum|packagekit|gpk-application'
? Also, check if /var/run/yum.pid exists, and if it does, delete it

Last edited by giulix; 21st February 2011 at 09:30 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 21st February 2011, 05:52 PM
satishj Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: 19.2361N 73.1583E
Posts: 59
linuxubuntufirefox
Re: "Waiting in Queue" annoyance in F14

Quote:
Originally Posted by giulix View Post
Weird... Have you not rebooted since last week? Could you please post the output of
Code:
ps -ef |egrep -i 'yum|packagekit|gpk-application'
? Also, check if /var/run/yum.pid exists, and if it does, delete it
The command gives me 2 processes in the output,out of which one was the same as command itself..
Also,there is no yum.pid file in the path specified.
What i cannot understand is why system monitor is not showing that process and the 'ps' command you gave is showing it..
PS::I cannot post the output of command as internet is not working on fedora,but i can logged in fedora and have tested the command..
I suppose i can kill this process as follows:
Code:
sudo kill pid
UPDATE:
No,even if i kill the process,then also the software sources window remains empty and displays 'Waiting in queue' meesage as is the case with Add/Remove software Window.
Pls help in solving it...

Last edited by satishj; 22nd February 2011 at 05:07 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 23rd February 2011, 01:22 PM
giulix Offline
"Fixed" by (vague) request
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: GMT+ 1
Posts: 2,950
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: "Waiting in Queue" annoyance in F14

Quote:
Originally Posted by satishj View Post
I suppose i can kill this process as follows:
Code:
sudo kill pid
Nope, wrong assumption. This is not Ubuntu. Try just to kill it as your normal user (NOT root):

Edit: Alternatively, use this command:
Code:
kill $(ps -ef |egrep -i 'yum|packagekit|gpk-application' |grep -v egrep |awk '{print $2}')
just make sure you're not root

Last edited by giulix; 23rd February 2011 at 01:38 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 23rd February 2011, 05:45 PM
satishj Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: 19.2361N 73.1583E
Posts: 59
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: "Waiting in Queue" annoyance in F14

Quote:
Originally Posted by giulix View Post
Edit: Alternatively, use this command:
Code:
kill $(ps -ef |egrep -i 'yum|packagekit|gpk-application' |grep -v egrep |awk '{print $2}')
just make sure you're not root
This is waht i get on using above command:
Code:
[satish@TITAN ~]$ kill $(ps -ef |egrep -i 'yum|packagekit|gpk-application' |grep -v egrep |awk '{print $2}')
bash: kill: (2057) - Operation not permitted
bash: kill: (2059) - Operation not permitted
[satish@TITAN ~]$
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 23rd February 2011, 06:20 PM
giulix Offline
"Fixed" by (vague) request
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: GMT+ 1
Posts: 2,950
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: "Waiting in Queue" annoyance in F14

That's correct: You are not allowed to kill processes you don't own. But you should be able to Add/Remove packages or update your system. The fact that some process runs in the background at all times preventing you from doing any of the above is very odd. You could try rebooting and running a system update immediately after. It would also be interesting to have a list of all your running processes after, say 10 minutes from boot, to see what's going on:
Code:
ps -ef
will list all processes on your system

Last edited by giulix; 23rd February 2011 at 07:07 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 23rd February 2011, 08:04 PM
jmnielsen Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 57
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: "Waiting in Queue" annoyance in F14

You might be able to track down the process (assuming it uses something with yum, rpm etc in its naming). ie: /var/cache/yum

For instance (as ROOT):

lsof | grep -i yum

I see some yumBacken... processes. The second field is the PID you can kill.

lsof | grep -i rpm

Might show you what rpms the process is trying to install etc if at all.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10th March 2011, 05:46 AM
satishj Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: 19.2361N 73.1583E
Posts: 59
windows_xp_2003firefox
Re: "Waiting in Queue" annoyance in F14

iam still looking for resolution to this annoyance..
This prob has rendered my fedora partition useless
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 18th March 2011, 08:28 PM
satishj Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: 19.2361N 73.1583E
Posts: 59
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: "Waiting in Queue" annoyance in F14

wait..i just observed this..
if iam connected to internet,then it works fine.I can search/download/install packages w/o any issues.But when iam offline,Add/remove software do not list the packages and gives this 'Waiting' message at below left corner.
Icome from ubuntu world..so iam finding this really frustating..
Any inputs now????
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 25th April 2011, 09:50 AM
satishj Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: 19.2361N 73.1583E
Posts: 59
windows_xp_2003firefox
Re: "Waiting in Queue" annoyance in F14

It just slipped out of my mind that i have this problem and it is STILL not resolved.
ideas pls...
After a long time,i booted to fedora and faced this issue again.
Why..o why is add/remove program NOT WORKING WITHOUT INTERNET?????
So,now,can anyone pls assist me or should i delete the fedora partition and make use of it as another storage partition.
I really do not wish to depart with fedora,but,given this annoying problem,i think i have no other option left.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 25th April 2011, 09:56 AM
glennzo Online
Un-Retired Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Salem, Mass USA
Age: 57
Posts: 14,780
linuxfirefox
Re: "Waiting in Queue" annoyance in F14

You've answered your own question. In post 11 you stated
Quote:
if iam connected to internet,then it works fine.I can search/download/install packages w/o any issues.But when iam offline,Add/remove software do not list the packages and gives this 'Waiting' message at below left corner.
You need to be connected to the Internet for the application to work properly.
__________________
Glenn
The Bassinator

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Laptop: Just a couple of old single core units
Desktop: BioStar MCP6PB M2+ / AMD Phenom 9750 Quad Core / 4GB / Kingston HyperX 3K SSD 240GB SATA 3.0 / 1TB SATA / EVGA GeForce 8400 GS 1GB
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 25th April 2011, 10:14 AM
satishj Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: 19.2361N 73.1583E
Posts: 59
windows_xp_2003firefox
Re: "Waiting in Queue" annoyance in F14

Quote:
Originally Posted by glennzo View Post
You've answered your own question. In post 11 you stated You need to be connected to the Internet for the application to work properly.

so,does that mean fedora needs Internet connection just to view the available packages.This is a real shocker.
Is there no other way,wherein,the package list(of repos) not being fetched from Internet(just like Ubuntu way)???
WHY IS THIS POINT NOT MENTIONED IN FEDORA 14 DOCUMENTATION??
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 25th April 2011, 10:30 AM
megaloman Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 142
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: "Waiting in Queue" annoyance in F14

Quote:
Originally Posted by glennzo View Post
You've answered your own question. In post 11 you stated You need to be connected to the Internet for the application to work properly.
Actually, the assumption, that user has permanent and instant internet connection is very annoying. Why? I use my laptop at home and on the go, while on the go, I have limited data allowance in my broadband - do I want to waste it on packages / metadata info updates? obviously not. Other annoyance is - whenever I want to check if package is available in my repos, it updates the packages list - what for? that should only happen, when user requests it asking for updates, or to refresh packages list.
__________________
megaloman.org
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
annoyance, f14, waiting in queue

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CUPS stuck at "waiting for job to complete" sej7278 Using Fedora 3 3rd February 2010 01:26 PM
waiting for X server to shut down FreeFontPath: FPE "unix/:7100" pailott Using Fedora 10 28th July 2007 04:47 AM
Basero - "waiting for ongoing tasks" pvn Using Fedora 0 14th December 2006 10:17 PM
"Print file sent, waiting for printer to finish..." hjl Using Fedora 2 25th April 2006 07:39 AM
Error:visibility arg must be one of "default", "hidden", "protected" or "internal" wangfeng Using Fedora 0 23rd May 2005 04:59 AM


Current GMT-time: 09:43 (Friday, 31-10-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin Copyright 2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Molfetta - Caibarien Instagram Photos - Berberati Photos on Instagram