Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #31  
Old 25th June 2011, 06:54 AM
VerneOR Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Eugene, Oregon
Posts: 36
linuxfirefox
Re: Uh-Oh! F15's Updates Borked It Big Time!

and I have an Nvidia 8600GT running the proprietary 275.09.07 driver.
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 25th June 2011, 07:08 AM
Imaginenz Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 28
linuxfirefox
Re: Uh-Oh! F15's Updates Borked It Big Time!

I have the same problem. It is related to the binary nvidia drivers from RPMfusion, firefox 5 and gnome-shell.

https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=716535

https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=716572

I did:
yum downgrade xulrunner gnome-python2-extras gnome-python2-gtkmozembed gnome-shell firefox xulrunner-devel
until the problem is fixed.
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 25th June 2011, 07:56 AM
sonoran Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Sonoran Desert
Posts: 2,341
linuxfirefox
Re: Uh-Oh! F15's Updates Borked It Big Time!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Imaginenz View Post
I did:
yum downgrade xulrunner gnome-python2-extras gnome-python2-gtkmozembed gnome-shell firefox xulrunner-devel
until the problem is fixed.
That works for me too - thanks. Had to add gecko-libs to the list.
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 25th June 2011, 07:56 AM
schotty Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 207
linuxfirefox
GNOME3 clutter broken, any tips on how to fix?

I am having problems for some reason getting clutter to start. I am currently using fluxbox to get access to my computer, as when I use the GNOME3 session, it loads up, and all I have is the wallpaper. No top bar.

So, inside of fb, I fire up gnome-terminal, and issue:
Code:
startx -- :1
to see whats all going on, and the following is part of what is displayed:
Quote:
(gnome-shell:2286): Clutter-CRITICAL **: Unable to initialize Clutter: Unable to find suitable fbconfig for the GLX context
Window manager error: Unable to initialize Clutter.
Ok, that lead me to looking at my nvidia driver setup. Well, glxgears is working fine. Proper FPS and all, and glxinfo yields appropriate info for a working setup. The only thing I can think of is clutter being broken somehow.

Any tips on how to fix this? Aside from a reinstall that is :P


Thanks,
Andrew.
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 25th June 2011, 08:00 AM
VerneOR Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Eugene, Oregon
Posts: 36
linuxfirefox
Re: Uh-Oh! F15's Updates Borked It Big Time!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Imaginenz View Post
I have the same problem. It is related to the binary nvidia drivers from RPMfusion, firefox 5 and gnome-shell.

https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=716535

https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=716572

I did:
yum downgrade xulrunner gnome-python2-extras gnome-python2-gtkmozembed gnome-shell firefox xulrunner-devel
until the problem is fixed.
Yep worked for me too, though I removed "firefox" from the downgrade as I am using Firefox Nightly 7.0a1. Thanks Much ..and appreciate the links to the bug reports.
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 25th June 2011, 08:07 AM
sonoran Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Sonoran Desert
Posts: 2,341
linuxfirefox
Re: GNOME3 clutter broken, any tips on how to fix?

http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showthread.php?t=265816, and read to the end (or skip to the end).
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 25th June 2011, 08:22 AM
schotty Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 207
linuxfirefox
Re: GNOME3 clutter broken, any tips on how to fix?

Thanks, that did the trick. When I first looked, there wasn't more than that first page :P

I will not reboot until I see confirmation that it is fixed. Lol

Thanks again pal, saved my bacon on this one!

Andrew.
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 25th June 2011, 08:36 AM
Dan Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Paris, TX
Posts: 23,262
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Uh-Oh! F15's Updates Borked It Big Time!

Threads merged.
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 25th June 2011, 09:24 AM
bluecube Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 3
linuxfirefox
Re: Uh-Oh! F15's Updates Borked It Big Time!

Same problem, thanks so much guys, reverted back to the old packages and back up and running. I had quite a little panic there for a few minutes.
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 25th June 2011, 09:35 AM
Mariusz W Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Berkeley, California
Posts: 690
linuxarora
Re: Uh-Oh! F15's Updates Borked It Big Time!

I performed updates on a Toshiba NB205 netbook and on an HP dm4-1160us (i5 with an integrated Intel graphics chipset). No isues afterwards whatsover.

I am using a plain gnome-shell (no extensions, no tweaks).

Quote:
Originally Posted by DBelton View Post
No problems with it, either. It's running fine after a boatload of updates were applied and rebooted.

So I wonder what the problem with the updates are...

It does look like the fonts in firefox 5 look a little better though
I agree.
Reply With Quote
  #41  
Old 25th June 2011, 10:10 AM
sonoran Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Sonoran Desert
Posts: 2,341
linuxfirefox
Re: Uh-Oh! F15's Updates Borked It Big Time!

From those bugreports linked above it seems to be an issue of Rpath and clutter not working with the nvidia proprietary driver.

The real issue is whether the update should have been pushed to stable automatically.
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 25th June 2011, 10:48 AM
luzem Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 2
linuxfirefox
Re: Uh-Oh! F15's Updates Borked It Big Time!

same issue for me, I solved changuing Xorg.conf file puttinng vesa driver, i will waith for next clutter patch
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 25th June 2011, 10:55 AM
SilvioTO Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Turin, Italy
Posts: 35
linuxfirefox
Re: Uh-Oh! F15's Updates Borked It Big Time!

Same problem for me. I solved with downgrade solution, and I hope to see a solution soon.
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 25th June 2011, 11:09 AM
SteveGYBE Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lytham St Annes, Lancashire, UK
Posts: 338
linuxfirefox
Re: Uh-Oh! F15's Updates Borked It Big Time!

Hey thanks guys! Booted up this morning and logged on to Gnome 3 and just got the wallpaper. After a few sanity checks, headed over here to find the solution
Quote:
Originally Posted by Imaginenz View Post
yum downgrade xulrunner gnome-python2-extras gnome-python2-gtkmozembed gnome-shell firefox xulrunner-devel
Out of that list I only had gnome-shell, firefox and xulrunner. Downgrading all three fixed it for me.

I added the following in /etc/yum.conf to prevent me inadvertently reinstalling with next upgrades:
Code:
exclude=gnome-shell firefox xulrunner
For info, I am running Rpmfusion's 275.09.07 nVidia drivers on an x86_64 box, so am a prime candidate for this bug.
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 25th June 2011, 11:57 AM
jsn255 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Finland
Posts: 13
linuxfirefox
Re: Uh-Oh! F15's Updates Borked It Big Time!

Pretty much same story here. Downgrading: gnome-shell, firefox and xulrunner "fixed" the issue. Also using nvidia from rpmfusion and x86_64 system.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
big, borked, f15, time, uhoh, updates

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FlexLM cannot work with F15's new em* net if naming shaohao Servers & Networking 0 20th June 2011 02:16 PM
Latest updates borked grizewald Using Fedora 2 26th November 2009 11:15 AM
borked updates bart11 Using Fedora 0 10th December 2008 01:02 AM
Long Time - No Updates Trapper Using Fedora 4 5th September 2008 06:03 PM


Current GMT-time: 23:26 (Monday, 01-09-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat