Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 1st September 2006, 12:24 PM
smashedpumpkin Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 3
Question Fedora Core 5 on Asus P5B and Core 2 Duo

Hi there,

I just upgraded to the new Core 2 Duo/Asus P5B Deluxe (Intel P965 / ICH8R chipset). First problem is, that Fedora 5 boots only, if AHCI is enabled (whereas Windows XP supports the IDE mode of the SATA controller only), but that is the minor issue.

The major problem is that the mouse starts to jump and XMMS starts to stutter when there is too much IO or something (e.g. when I insert a CF card, copy many files or compile PHP5). My idea was that the CPU temperature becomes too high, but the extra 12cm fan and new thermal conductance paste did not help in any way. The bios also reports no problems concerning the CPU temperature (it's well below 50 degrees celsius). So far, I can monitor the CPU temperature using Windows XP and the Asus tools only because /proc/acpi/thermal_zone/ is still empty. Are the temperature sensors of the P5B supported by lm_sensors/the FC5 SMP kernel? Are any special BIOS settings required?

I think that there could be a problem with the AHCI implementation which will be fixed with kernel 2.6.18... any other hints? How I can find out what is wrong? /var/log/messages does not contain any error messages - everything seems to be ok.

Thanks,

Michael

www.nulldevice.de
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 2nd September 2006, 11:41 PM
jlow Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 21
Hi,

I'm getting the same problems such as mouse stutter when disk I/O is happening on a Gigabyte GA-965P-DS4 with Core2 cpu. I can only think that we need to wait for linux drivers for the Intel 965 chipset, since it's quite new, I think.

By the way, what does /sbin/lspci show? Do you get a lot of unknown devices listed?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2nd September 2006, 11:46 PM
smashedpumpkin Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 3
Thanks for your reply! Hope the issues will be fixed with Fedora 6, if this really is a general problem...

# /sbin/lspci
00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation Unknown device 29a0 (rev 02)
00:01.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation Unknown device 29a1 (rev 02)
00:1a.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation Unknown device 2834 (rev 02)
00:1a.1 USB Controller: Intel Corporation Unknown device 2835 (rev 02)
00:1a.7 USB Controller: Intel Corporation Unknown device 283a (rev 02)
00:1c.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation Unknown device 283f (rev 02)
00:1c.4 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation Unknown device 2847 (rev 02)
00:1c.5 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation Unknown device 2849 (rev 02)
00:1d.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation Unknown device 2830 (rev 02)
00:1d.1 USB Controller: Intel Corporation Unknown device 2831 (rev 02)
00:1d.2 USB Controller: Intel Corporation Unknown device 2832 (rev 02)
00:1d.7 USB Controller: Intel Corporation Unknown device 2836 (rev 02)
00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801 PCI Bridge (rev f2)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation Unknown device 2810 (rev 02)
00:1f.2 SATA controller: Intel Corporation Unknown device 2821 (rev 02)
00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corporation Unknown device 283e (rev 02)
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation Unknown device 0391 (rev a1)
02:00.0 Ethernet controller: Marvell Technology Group Ltd. Unknown device 4364 (rev 12)
03:00.0 IDE interface: JMicron Technologies, Inc. JMicron 20360/20363 AHCI Controller (rev 02)
05:02.0 Multimedia audio controller: Creative Labs SB Live! EMU10k1 (rev 08)
05:02.1 Input device controller: Creative Labs SB Live! MIDI/Game Port (rev 08)
05:03.0 FireWire (IEEE 1394): Texas Instruments TSB43AB22/A IEEE-1394a-2000 Controller (PHY/Link)
05:04.0 Ethernet controller: Marvell Technology Group Ltd. 88E8001 Gigabit Ethernet Controller (rev 14)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 3rd September 2006, 12:11 PM
smashedpumpkin Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 3
Unhappy Bugzilla Bug 201670: Unabled to boot 2.6.17 Kernel on Intel P965 / ICH8

Other P965 users seem to have similar problems:

http://bugzilla.redhat.com/bugzilla/....cgi?id=201670
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 4th September 2006, 12:33 AM
spence Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 20
I had the same problem.

Firstly don't connect a hard disk to the JMicron controller. Use the 6 ICH8 SATA ports.
If you connect a CD/DVD Drive to the IDE connector then boot with the option 'all-generic-ide'
e.g.
linux all-generic-ide

Now if i can just remember how i configured the ICH8 controller...
I *think* that I switched off RAID and set them to work as individual disks in IDE mode.

Fedora Core 5 installed and has been running awesome since then. It got rid of the pausing/stutting during install (actually when i had the issue i could not get past the install - time outs on IO devices).
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 4th September 2006, 12:42 AM
jim Offline
Retired Community Manager & Avid Drinker Of Suds
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Rochester NY
Age: 39
Posts: 4,175
From what I unserstand, fc6 will support the new duo core procesors and asus boards. I would check the fedora-development list for more details.
__________________
Registered Linux User: #376813
Western NY
My linux site
Smolt Profile

please remember to say if you problem was solved

Did you get your id10t award today?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11th September 2006, 02:52 PM
swint144 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by spence
I had the same problem.

Firstly don't connect a hard disk to the JMicron controller. Use the 6 ICH8 SATA ports.
If you connect a CD/DVD Drive to the IDE connector then boot with the option 'all-generic-ide'
e.g.
linux all-generic-ide

Now if i can just remember how i configured the ICH8 controller...
I *think* that I switched off RAID and set them to work as individual disks in IDE mode.
Hmm... I get "<0>Kernel panic -not syncing" with both 32- and 64-bit Fedora 5 when I try "linuk all-generic-ide irqpoll". I've got a Gigabyte GA-965P-S3, which also has the 965/ICH8 chipset combo. I've got the HDs on hte ICH8 SATA ports, DVD on the IDE, and no RAID. Any clues on this? Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11th September 2006, 11:43 PM
spence Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by swint144
Hmm... I get "<0>Kernel panic -not syncing" with both 32- and 64-bit Fedora 5 when I try "linuk all-generic-ide irqpoll". I've got a Gigabyte GA-965P-S3, which also has the 965/ICH8 chipset combo. I've got the HDs on hte ICH8 SATA ports, DVD on the IDE, and no RAID. Any clues on this? Thanks!
The all-generic-ide allows linux to see the IDE DVD-ROM on the JMicron controller on the ASUS P5B Deluxe Motherboard.

Linux had no trouble seeing the SATA disks connected to the ICH8 RAID controller - provided i ran them as individual disks rather than RAID.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 19th September 2006, 01:32 AM
guisar Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 4
Fedora 6 T3 works on P965 except for Ethernet

Anyone know of a solution for the Marvell builtin ethernet? It's an Marvell 8056 Gigabit LAN Controller paper weight at the moment. I have popped an old Tulip card in there but would be nice to use the motherboard controller.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 21st September 2006, 06:15 PM
skyreacher Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 10
Hi everybody, I've an Asus P5B Deluxe, too, and couldn't install Linux. So, should a download the new FC6 T3 iso? Will this really work?

Another question: I've configured my system with a RAID0 (two SATA disks connected to the Intel southbridge). Currently I have one small partition with Windows XP on it. What I'd like to do is to install a dual boot system with Linux on this RAID disk.

Do I need any further drivers for Linux to detect the RAID device and allow me to install there? Is there anything else I should take care about?

Thanks for any hints, suggestions and opinions!
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 25th September 2006, 01:14 PM
lainsonic Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1
hi I am Chinese. I've a P5B Deluxe , SATA HD x2 and PATA DVDRecoder x2. now I major problem is SATA harddisk can not enable DMA. so I checked in handbook, found the IDE enhanced ,I make it,
so FC5 recognize hdx as sd sdx , DMA is enabled. But pata DVDRecoders still not be recognized. After update kernel to 2.6.17 ,the status have changed into this:
http://bugzilla.redhat.com/bugzilla/....cgi?id=201670

NOW, my mood is very calm!!!
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 26th September 2006, 12:50 AM
guisar Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by skyreacher
Hi everybody, I've an Asus P5B Deluxe, too, and couldn't install Linux. So, should a download the new FC6 T3 iso? Will this really work?
Sort of- the Audio won't work and neither will the LAN (see above) unless they use something different than the Gigabyte. If someone can attest to the contrary, please spread the word so we Linux users can support the vendors who support us. I for one won't be buying Gigabyte anymore.

Quote:
Originally Posted by skyreacher
Another question: I've configured my system with a RAID0 (two SATA disks connected to the Intel southbridge). Currently I have one small partition with Windows XP on it. What I'd like to do is to install a dual boot system with Linux on this RAID disk.

I would recommend the software RAID in the kernel over any hardware solution- particularly a very low end and troublesome one such as an on-board device. Software allows you to move the disks to another machine and still be able to recover them. Software RAID will offer basically the same performance as a HW product.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 27th September 2006, 12:15 AM
lego Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 2
Hello,

I have a new GA-965P-DQ6, I tried to install FC5 and FC6T3. Both give me the same problem, the install ask me to provide a driver, I suspect for the ICH8R south bridge. It appear that some of you were able to install FC5 or FC6T3 even if not fully fonctionnal.

Can you tell me where you get the driver or what have you done to be able to install Fedora

thanks
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 28th September 2006, 07:36 PM
skyreacher Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by guisar
Sort of- the Audio won't work and neither will the LAN (see above) unless they use something different than the Gigabyte. If someone can attest to the contrary, please spread the word so we Linux users can support the vendors who support us. I for one won't be buying Gigabyte anymore.
ok, good to know! Audio isn't important for me because I'm using a Creative Audigy card instead of the onboard sound.

Quote:
Originally Posted by guisar
I would recommend the software RAID in the kernel over any hardware solution- particularly a very low end and troublesome one such as an on-board device. Software allows you to move the disks to another machine and still be able to recover them. Software RAID will offer basically the same performance as a HW product.
Well, yes... I read a bit more on that topic and it looks like these onboard RAID controllers are really not that good supported. Now I have the problem that I need the RAID 0 array for Windows XP - because I'm doing video editing there and I need the performance...

One solution would be to put in a third disk for installing Linux (without RAID), but that's not what I actually wanted to have (3 disks in my machine). Another solution might be a better (?) RAID controller that is supported also by Linux. This way it should be possible to install Windows and Linux on the same RAID array, I guess...
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 30th September 2006, 01:32 AM
chiefgeek Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 5
Maybe some good news

It just noticed the following in the changelog for kernel 2.6.18
Quote:
Revert mmiocfg heuristics and blacklist changes

This reverts commits 11012d419cfc0e0f78ca356aca03674217910124 and
40dd2d20f220eda1cd0da8ea3f0f9db8971ba237, which allowed us to use the
MMIO accesses for PCI config cycles even without the area being marked
reserved in the e820 memory tables.

Those changes were needed for EFI-environment Intel macs, but broke some
newer Intel 965 boards, so for now it's better to revert to our old
2.6.17 behaviour and at least avoid introducing any new breakage.

Andi Kleen has a set of patches that work with both EFI and the broken
Intel 965 boards, which will be applied once they get wider testing.
Does anyone know how to update the FC6 installer to use this new kernel?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
asus, core, duo, fedora, p5b

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ASUS F8SG Fedora Core 10 cryostasis23 Hardware & Laptops 1 27th February 2009 12:24 PM
Asus A6Rp with Fedora Core 5 alpin23 Hardware & Laptops 0 14th November 2006 06:33 PM
Asus M2V - Fedora Core 5 Installation Slammer64 Hardware & Laptops 3 8th August 2006 07:31 PM
Asus A8V-Deluxe AMD +Fedora Core 3 Rachel Hardware & Laptops 2 3rd June 2005 01:38 PM


Current GMT-time: 08:10 (Monday, 22-09-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat