Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center

Go Back   FedoraForum.org > Fedora Resources > Guides & Solutions (No Questions)
FedoraForum Search

Forgot Password? Join Us!

Guides & Solutions (No Questions) Post your guides here (No links to Blogs accepted). You can also append your comments/questions to a guide, but don't start a new thread to ask a question. Use another forum for that.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 19th October 2006, 09:55 PM
Firewing1 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Age: 23
Posts: 9,224
Post Getting ATi cards to work in Fedora

Note: This howto has been transferred to my blog here. (Instructions for Fedora 7+ can be found here)

First, I'd like to link to this article. The instructions below will make sure your system's normal libGL isn't replaced with the ATi ones, preventing problems.

Important Reminders
  • Reboot when you're done installing or updating a driver.
  • Don't worry if yum cannot find the xorg-x11-drv-fglrx-libs-32bit package, it will only be installed on x86_64 (64bit) machines. If you're looking for this package in the Fedora 7+ repositories, it has been obsoleted and no longer exists. Instead, please install the xorg-x11-drv-fglrx-libs.i386 package.
  • Please see the bottom of the page if you are troubles with DRI.
  • Currently the fglrx drivers aren't compatible with AIGLX. To use Beryl or Compiz, try setting up Xgl.
  • Don't worry about the kmod-fglrx-smp modules anymore if you use FC6 & up - All kernels for FC6 & up are now SMP-capable.
  • For a configuration tool that allows you to switch between various configurations including AIGLX and Xgl, please try livna-config-display:
    Code:
    yum install livna-config-display
    It still is in beta, so if there's problems please report them to freeworld-graphics@livna.org. Thanks!

Radeon Driver
If your card is supported by this Open-Source DRI driver, it's preferred to use this one. All you have to do is edit your /etc/X11/xorg.conf and under the "Device" section, you'll find a line like this:
Code:
Driver     "drivername"
Just change it to:
Code:
Driver     "radeon"
Now restart your computer. If you can see a graphical interface, then you should be set to go. (Don't panic if you don't have a GUI now, just login as root and type the commands shown, it should work out.)

If you have previously followed this howto and wish to return to the Radeon driver, please remember to use livna-config-display (see Reminders for how to install) to switch back to the AIGLX configuration.

Rawhide (Fedora development)
Not officially supported, however it is very easy to build your own RPMs. Simply download the source RPMs for fglrx-kmod and xorg-x11-drv-fglrx here:
http://rpm.livna.org/fedora/development/SRPMS
and then see my RPM (re)building howto for how to rebuild these for the kernel version you have installed.

Fedora Core 6
Code:
su -
rpm -Uhv http://rpm.livna.org/livna-release-6.rpm
yum install kmod-fglrx xorg-x11-drv-fglrx xorg-x11-drv-fglrx-libs-32bit
yum update kmod-fglrx xorg-x11-drv-fglrx xorg-x11-drv-fglrx-libs-32bit
service fglrx restart
fglrx-config-display enable
If you see errors like this:
Quote:
Transaction Check Error: package kernel-2.6.19-1.2911.6.5.fc6 is already installed
file /boot/System.map-2.6.19-1.2911.6.5.fc6 from install of kernel-2.6.19-1.2911.6.5.fc6 conflicts with file from package kernel-2.6.19-1.2911.6.5.fc6
file /boot/config-2.6.19-1.2911.6.5.fc6 from install of kernel-2.6.19-1.2911.6.5.fc6 conflicts with file from package kernel-2.6.19-1.2911.6.5.fc6
file /boot/symvers-2.6.19-1.2911.6.5.fc6.gz from install of kernel-2.6.19-1.2911.6.5.fc6 conflicts with file from package kernel-2.6.19-1.2911.6.5.fc6
file /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.19-1.2911.6.5.fc6 from install of kernel-2.6.19-1.2911.6.5.fc6 conflicts with file from package kernel-2.6.19-1.2911.6.5.fc6
Please see this post:
http://www.fedoraforum.org/forum/sho...d.php?t=134287
Fedora Core 5
Code:
su -
rpm -Uhv http://rpm.livna.org/livna-release5.rpm
yum install kmod-fglrx xorg-x11-drv-fglrx xorg-x11-drv-fglrx-libs-32bit
yum update kmod-fglrx xorg-x11-drv-fglrx xorg-x11-drv-fglrx-libs-32bit
service ati-fglrx restart
ati-fglrx-config-display enable
setsebool -P allow_execstack=1
setsebool -P allow_execmod=1
Please see the bottom of the page if you have troubles with DRI.
Fedora Core 4
** Please note FC4 is not longer supported at Livna
Code:
su -
rpm -Uhv http://rpm.livna.org/livna-release4.rpm
yum install kmod-fglrx xorg-x11-drv-fglrx kernel-module-fglrx
yum update kmod-fglrx xorg-x11-drv-fglrx kernel-module-fglrx
service ati-fglrx restart
ati-fglrx-config-display enable
setsebool -P allow_execstack=1
setsebool -P allow_execmod=1
If you're having problems with DRI...
Try using livna-config-display (see Reminders for how to install) and switch to None / Neither. This will disable AIGLX and therefore enable fglrx DRI, or try using Xgl if you have Xgl installed.

Also, I've heard this option in your Device section can help:
Code:
Option   "VideoOverlay" "On"
Firewing1
__________________
[+] My open source software and blog
[+] Some of my howtos: (for full list, click here)

Last edited by Firewing1; 1st March 2009 at 06:24 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 20th October 2006, 06:12 AM
Janl Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Kentucky, USA
Age: 34
Posts: 309
By using the fglrx drivers in FC6 don't you give up being able to use AIGLX?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 20th October 2006, 07:02 AM
PeTzZz Offline
Retired Community Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Tartu
Posts: 1,550
Quote:
Originally Posted by Firewing1
service fglrx restart
Isn't it ati-fglrx instead (in FC5)? It's what is in my service list in FC5 and there is no fglrx.

I installed ATI drivers from Livna too.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 20th October 2006, 04:51 PM
Firewing1 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Age: 23
Posts: 9,224
Oh, my mistake - Changeing it...
Yes, using fglrx gives up aiglx, but you can use Xgl then. fglrx is an alternative for those who can't get the open-source 'radeon' driver working.
Firewing1
__________________
[+] My open source software and blog
[+] Some of my howtos: (for full list, click here)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 21st October 2006, 12:31 AM
Janl Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Kentucky, USA
Age: 34
Posts: 309
Yeah, that's what I thought. I much prefer the AIGLX method over the XGL method for doing the accelerated desktop. Hopefully ATI gets their act together and releases drivers which work with AIGLX. Otherwise I may just go with XGL so that I can try using the fglrx drivers.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 21st October 2006, 02:31 AM
yatt Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Janl
Yeah, that's what I thought. I much prefer the AIGLX method over the XGL method for doing the accelerated desktop. Hopefully ATI gets their act together and releases drivers which work with AIGLX. Otherwise I may just go with XGL so that I can try using the fglrx drivers.
If radeon works for you, don't bother with fglrx.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 22nd October 2006, 04:34 AM
glussier Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Montreal, PQ, Canada
Posts: 139
the fglrx drivers are at least twice as fast as the radeon drivers, so it might be worth using fglrx even if they are closed source.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 22nd October 2006, 04:02 PM
Firewing1 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Age: 23
Posts: 9,224
Yes, but:
radeon: Moderately fast, Open-Source, and support AIGLX.
fglrx: Fast.
Firewing1
__________________
[+] My open source software and blog
[+] Some of my howtos: (for full list, click here)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 22nd October 2006, 04:21 PM
glussier Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Montreal, PQ, Canada
Posts: 139
Quote:
Originally Posted by Firewing1
Yes, but:
radeon: Moderately fast, Open-Source, and support AIGLX.
fglrx: Fast.
Firewing1
True enough, but we can add xgl/compiz to the fglrx drivers.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 22nd October 2006, 09:08 PM
Janl Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Kentucky, USA
Age: 34
Posts: 309
The open source drivers technically work I suppose, but even just the GL screensavers are EXTREMELY slow. According to GLXINFO, DRI is enabled, so not really sure what else to try at this point. I have a Radeon 9800, so from what I understand, support that that generation has just recently been added to the open drivers.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 22nd October 2006, 09:17 PM
Firewing1 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Age: 23
Posts: 9,224
That, or it could be what you're displaying and your card's power, too. I had a 1024x768 screen at first, screensavers work fine on my nVidia 32MB card with nVidia's drivers. Bought a LCD, and now with newer drivers that should theoretically be faster, it's still slower because my resolution is now 1280x1024.
Firewing1
__________________
[+] My open source software and blog
[+] Some of my howtos: (for full list, click here)
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 23rd October 2006, 08:20 AM
yatt Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by glussier
True enough, but we can add xgl/compiz to the fglrx drivers.
When it breaks it breaks in bizarre and idiotic ways. It does this quite frequently too.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 23rd October 2006, 01:39 PM
glussier Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Montreal, PQ, Canada
Posts: 139
Quote:
Originally Posted by Firewing1
That, or it could be what you're displaying and your card's power, too. I had a 1024x768 screen at first, screensavers work fine on my nVidia 32MB card with nVidia's drivers. Bought a LCD, and now with newer drivers that should theoretically be faster, it's still slower because my resolution is now 1280x1024.
Firewing1
You seem to be pushing the open source drivers for ATI cards, have you tried the Open source drivers on your nvidia card?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 24th October 2006, 12:54 AM
Firewing1 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Age: 23
Posts: 9,224
lol yeah, it's horribly slow...
Firewing1
__________________
[+] My open source software and blog
[+] Some of my howtos: (for full list, click here)
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 24th October 2006, 01:42 AM
Janl Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Kentucky, USA
Age: 34
Posts: 309
I'll try it out using a lower resolution and see how it goes. But right now as I said the screensaver basically starts and then doesn't even appear to be moving.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ati, cards, fedora, work

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
wireless cards that work on fedora fedorablue Servers & Networking 6 15th November 2009 06:31 PM
Getting nVidia cards to work in Fedora Core Firewing1 Guides & Solutions (No Questions) 1128 18th October 2008 03:48 PM
can't get Fedora Core 6 to work with nvidia cards, help sf_basilix Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 16 18th January 2007 03:49 PM
Wireless cards work with Fedora core 5 axiom Using Fedora 0 27th July 2006 09:04 PM
Wireless Cards that work with Fedora basketkase999 Hardware & Laptops 10 2nd January 2006 05:47 PM


Current GMT-time: 03:16 (Sunday, 23-11-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Olanchito Photos on Instagram - Tubarao - Panruti Travel Photos