<---- template headericclude ----->
FC6 Anaconda installs i586 kernel on i686 processor workaround
FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 21
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    22
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    FC6 Anaconda installs i586 kernel on i686 processor workaround

    I just found a post that addresses the issue with Anaconda installing the FC6 i586 kernel on systems with an i686 processor:

    https://www.redhat.com/archives/fedo.../msg03725.html

    Here's the text:

    On 10/29/2006 12:08 PM, Paul Smith wrote:
    > How can I then *safely* replace the i586 kernel with the i686?
    I did:
    yumdownloader kernel-2.6.18-1.2798.fc6.i686
    sudo rpm -Uvh --replacefiles --replacepkgs \
    kernel-2.6.18-1.2798.fc6.i686.rpm

    yumdownloader comes from the yum-utils package.

    Lars
    --

    His instructions work like a charm. Many thanks to Lars for this...this problem has been driving me crazy for a couple of days!
    Homer: There are three ways to do things, the right way, the wrong way and the Max Power way.
    Bart: Isn't that the wrong way?
    Homer: Yeah, but faster!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Canada
    Age
    32
    Posts
    9,221
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Moved to Howto forum
    Firewing1
    [+] My open source software and blog
    [+] Some of my howtos: (for full list, click here)

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    39
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi Firewing1, you can use rpm -Uvh --force kernel-2.6.18-1.2798.fc6.i686.rpm instead.
    if you see man --force is short way to write --replacefiles --replacepkgs --oldpackage.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    42
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by marcosmds
    Hi Firewing1, you can use rpm -Uvh --force kernel-2.6.18-1.2798.fc6.i686.rpm instead.
    if you see man --force is short way to write --replacefiles --replacepkgs --oldpackage.
    I did this and here is what I got:
    Code:
    [futz@xblade ~]$ sudo rpm -Uvh --force kernel-2.6.18-1.2798.fc6.i686.rpm
    Preparing...                ########################################### [100%]
       1:kernel                 ########################################### [100%]
    device-mapper: table ioctl failed: No such device or address
    device-mapper: table ioctl failed: No such device or address
    device-mapper: table ioctl failed: No such device or address
    [futz@xblade ~]$
    I tried changing the kernel once before, following some other forum poster's instructions and could never reboot again. On my boot attempts before reinstalling, I saw those same device-mapper errors.
    ======
    Now playing:
    Ubuntu 7.04 | Mint Cassandra | Fedora 7
    PCLinuxOS 2007 | SabayonLinux 3.3
    ======

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    22
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The first time I tried to replace the i586 kernel with the i686, I tried using someone's suggestion of a similar command using --force kernel. I immediately got "grubby" error messages. When I tried to reboot, grub couldn't find any kernels and I had to reinstall. There appears to be some kind of difference in the commands.

    I followed Lars' directions to the letter and everything went smooth.

    These same directions are now listed as the workaround on Fedora Wiki under Common Issues:
    http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Bugs/FC6Common
    Homer: There are three ways to do things, the right way, the wrong way and the Max Power way.
    Bart: Isn't that the wrong way?
    Homer: Yeah, but faster!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    42
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Well, the replaced kernel works, but I think those errors are something to do with device-mapper not working right. This box has multiple distros on it on various hard drives/partitions. I'm unable to mount the other drives/partitions (yes I am doing it right) from Fedora. All I get is errors like this:
    Code:
    mount: /dev/sda2 already mounted or /media/sda2 busy
    I know for sure that the device is not already mounted or busy, so now I'm unsure what to do.

    I can mount them in sabayonlinux and suse.
    Last edited by futz; 7th November 2006 at 03:17 AM.
    ======
    Now playing:
    Ubuntu 7.04 | Mint Cassandra | Fedora 7
    PCLinuxOS 2007 | SabayonLinux 3.3
    ======

  7. #7
    RBH Guest
    Code:
    [root@localhost ~]# rpm -Uvh --replacefiles --replacepkgs kernel-2.6.18-1.2798.fc6.i686.rpm
    Preparing...                ########################################### [100%]
            package kernel-2.6.18-1.2849.fc6 (which is newer than kernel-2.6.18-1.2798.fc6) is already installed

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Canada
    Age
    32
    Posts
    9,221
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Try also using this arg:
    --oldpackage
    Firewing1
    [+] My open source software and blog
    [+] Some of my howtos: (for full list, click here)

  9. #9
    leigh123linux Guest
    When installing Fedora core 6 you can choose what kernel you install ,The default seems to be i586 to change this to i686 at install just use this option at CD/DVD boot

    linux i686

    Leigh

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Paris, TX
    Posts
    24,194
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by RBH
    Code:
    [root@localhost ~]# rpm -Uvh --replacefiles --replacepkgs kernel-2.6.18-1.2798.fc6.i686.rpm
    Preparing...                ########################################### [100%]
            package kernel-2.6.18-1.2849.fc6 (which is newer than kernel-2.6.18-1.2798.fc6) is already installed


    If you have already run updates, and updated to the -.2849- i586 kernel, the above procedure (in post #1) will fail.

    These altered commands below will fix the problem. Note the red characters. These are the changes that have been, and must be made.

    Code:
     su -c "yum install yum-utils"
    
     yumdownloader kernel-2.6.18-1.2849.fc6.i686 
    
    su -c "rpm -Uvh --replacefiles --replacepkgs kernel-2.6.18-1.2849.fc6.i686.rpm"
    These changes, however, are only valid until there is another updated kernel made available.

    Dan
    Last edited by TangledWeb; 1st December 2006 at 05:59 PM.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Canada
    Age
    32
    Posts
    9,221
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Or just do
    Code:
    yumdownloader kernel.i686
    which will automatically grab the latest i686 kernel... From there:
    Code:
    su -c "rpm -Uvh --replacefiles --replacepkgs kernel-*.i686.rpm"
    Firewing1
    [+] My open source software and blog
    [+] Some of my howtos: (for full list, click here)

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Paris, TX
    Posts
    24,194
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Nice! I'm gonna quote you on that.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    233
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Question

    I typed in linux i686 when i went to install and I think it worked, can someone tell me the command to check in terminal to make sure it worked & im using i686? Thank you in advance.

    Ok i found the command and got this:

    [Captn@localhost ~]$ rpm -qa --queryformat "%{NAME}-%{VERSION}-%{RELEASE}.%{ARCH}\n"|grep kernel|sort
    kernel-2.6.18-1.2798.fc6.i686
    kernel-headers-2.6.18-1.2798.fc6.i386
    [Captn@localhost ~]$

    Does this look correct?
    Last edited by Captn; 23rd December 2006 at 10:19 AM.

  14. #14
    leigh123linux Guest
    Quote Originally Posted by Captn
    I typed in linux i686 when i went to install and I think it worked, can someone tell me the command to check in terminal to make sure it worked & im using i686? Thank you in advance.

    Ok i found the command and got this:

    [Captn@localhost ~]$ rpm -qa --queryformat "%{NAME}-%{VERSION}-%{RELEASE}.%{ARCH}\n"|grep kernel|sort
    kernel-2.6.18-1.2798.fc6.i686
    kernel-headers-2.6.18-1.2798.fc6.i386
    [Captn@localhost ~]$

    Does this look correct?
    Your kernel is fine

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    233
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thank you

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Compile a kernel for i686, i586 and others (NO i386)
    By alpha645 in forum Guides & Solutions (Not For Questions)
    Replies: 110
    Last Post: 19th February 2012, 09:51 AM
  2. HOWTO: Workaround anaconda bug for i586 and i686 fix (BEFORE INSTALLATION OF FEDORA)
    By alpha645 in forum Guides & Solutions (Not For Questions)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2nd December 2006, 04:58 PM
  3. what means i586 and i686 in kernel names ??
    By copter in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2nd July 2004, 11:27 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
[[template footer(Guest)]]