Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center

Go Back   FedoraForum.org > Fedora Resources > Guides & Solutions (No Questions)
FedoraForum Search

Forgot Password? Join Us!

Guides & Solutions (No Questions) Post your guides here (No links to Blogs accepted). You can also append your comments/questions to a guide, but don't start a new thread to ask a question. Use another forum for that.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 4th July 2007, 02:36 PM
Duli Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Sao Paulo, SP - Brazil
Age: 34
Posts: 702
How-to Print Server TE100-P1U + Fedora + CUPS

Since I´ve lost a few hours discovering how to configure my Trendnet TE100-P1U in CUPS, I think it´s good idea to post this how-to, in order to collaborate.

First, make sure cups service is up and running.

Then, open your browser and type "localhost:631", to open the CUPS administration page.

Click in "Add printer" and follow the instructions.

The trick part is to get the printer address right.

Choose for device "AppSocket/HP JetDirect" and as address:

Code:
socket://printerIP:9100
(PS: printerIP should be your printer address, as in 192.168.102)

Then select the apropriate driver for your model (do not try to use generic drivers that´s not for your specifc printer)

Now it should work!

cheers

Duli
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 19th July 2007, 10:51 PM
tdmyth Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1
Thanks! It works.

I had run into difficulty setting up the TrendNet printserver in CUPS. I somehow got it working for my laser printer (TE100-P1P); however, I couldn't get it to work with my inkjet (TE100-P1U). The difference, I think, was the method that I used to set up the laserjet last year (though it worked, I could not remember how I did it). I must not have used the CUPS web interface because it looked unfamiliar to me. Anyway, your post helped me get the inkjet working too! Thanks again.

P.S. I had to add users to the list of who is allowed to print; before that, I got a message that said

Code:
Error:  
           Quota limit reached
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 19th July 2007, 11:08 PM
Duli Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Sao Paulo, SP - Brazil
Age: 34
Posts: 702
Glad you could sort it out!!!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cups, fedora, howto, print, server, te100p1u

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can not connect to CUPS 1.3.7 Print Server ferrell Using Fedora 0 19th September 2008 01:54 AM
Printing via CUPS to a Vista Print-server jayfitzpatrick Using Fedora 4 12th September 2008 09:09 PM
Unable to save printer options on XP client with an FC6-Samba-Cups print server... johnrbek Servers & Networking 2 10th November 2006 01:51 PM
Setting/altering print margins for an HP OfficeJet printer on Fedora Core 4/CUPS? OS9Barry Using Fedora 2 30th October 2005 01:06 AM


Current GMT-time: 00:16 (Thursday, 24-07-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat