<---- template headericclude ----->
The Linux Newbie's walkthrough to Install Fedora 7 to a USB drive.
FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

The Linux Newbie's walkthrough to Install Fedora 7 to a USB drive.

Hello I'm fairly new to Linux and about a week ago I posted a question about installing Fedora 7 to a USB drive. I eventually got it figured out. Since then I've gotten several PMs asking for clarification about things or how I did it so I figured I'd post my step by step walk through here to hopefully help out some other Linux Newbies. If there are any points that any experienced Linux users think I should change or add please respond and I'll be happy to edit this accordingly. Hope this will be of some help to somebody.

First off let me describe what I wanted to do. I wanted to create a dual boot system without removing my Windows XP installation. I had a 200GB external USB drive with no data on it that I needed to save. I wanted to select which OS was booted on startup by selecting which device to boot from in the BIOS one time boot menu (Internal HD for Windows and USB storage device for Fedora). I know there are ways of doing this without selecting this is BIOS and instead let the GRUB boot loader prompt the user for which OS to boot but I was not familiar with that method at all. I was also worried that if I did something wrong I would damage the MBR on my Internal HD and corrupt my Windows OS. (if any Linux Gurus want to write up a step by step method for using GRUB I'll be happy to add it here as well)

If you want to attempt this be sure to check to make sure your BIOS supports USB booting, most current systems do but some older ones don't. If yours doesn't, then this method will not work for you!!!!

Here is my walk through to set up Fedora 7 for the Linux Newbie like I described above: