<---- template headericclude ----->
automount smbfs and fedora 9
FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 31
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    182
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Arrow automount smbfs and fedora 9

    Hi guys, after im using a fedora 9 box and a 8 one
    i have a samba share in the fedora 8 box (i know it works) but cant mount using "connect to server" because after installing it i used my samba share and put the check on remember password i guess thats why i get the error, is there a way to eraseit?
    So i tried using fstab, but everytime i try to mount it i got a msg unknow filesystem smbfs, what should i do?
    im using fedora 9 x64 and this is the fstab line

    //192.168.2.1 /media/Fedora8 smbfs username=****,password=**** 0 0

    Thanks
    Last edited by Dors; 2nd June 2008 at 01:48 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    In your closet
    Posts
    16,270
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Try using CIFS instead of SMBFS.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    182
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    did it too got the same error but with cifs

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    In your closet
    Posts
    16,270
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Here's what works for me.
    Code:
    sudo mount -t cifs //johnbonham/temp /media/temp -o username=glenn,password=''  <- Two apostrophes, not 1 quote mark.
    johnbonham is a Fedora 8 box on my local network. Temp is a shared folder on johnbonham. /media/temp is just an empty folder on this computer. Note that I always add the ip addresses of all locally networked computers in /etc/hosts on all Linux boxes. Seems to help.

    When I executed the above command I was asked for a passwword. I entered it and the share mounted and was browseable.

    One more note. Glenn is a valid user on johnbonham.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    182
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks!
    instead of Glenn i used the ip address, worked just fine, but still cant do it under fstab, how can i translate that to put it inside fstab because i get this

    mount error 13 = Permission denied
    Refer to the mount.cifs(8) manual page (e.g.man mount.cifs)

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    In your closet
    Posts
    16,270
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yeah, I don't think Glenn would have worked for you

    As far as fstab goes, I don't think it can be done. It's been discussed here before as I remember. Something to do with the order in which 'things' start when booting Linux. I've tried and could never get it to work that way.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    182
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    :o thats not good at all, im trying to do this because i have my mail on the other fedora box and need to read it from it, but thunderbird wont let me do it.
    Is there another way to automount samba shares on boot?
    Thanks

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    182
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    :O yay finally did it, was a weird solution....

    password='' <- Two apostrophes, not 1 quote mark.

    worked fine under the shell, but under fstab you need to get rid of them :P
    Easy as that! Thanks for all glennzo

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    In your closet
    Posts
    16,270
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    So you have the share mounting on boot?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    182
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    nah was too good to be true, i guess ill keep doing manually

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    In your closet
    Posts
    16,270
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    That's what I thought. If you figure it out there's a few members here who would like to know how you did it.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Tewksbury, MA
    Posts
    80
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Just wanted to add that you should be able to auto-mount samba shares at boot time by adding the mount command to the /etc/rc.local file. This gets executed last, so all the proper networking and other services are started up. This is how I've done it for quite some time now. Unfortunately it is a bit broken in F9 because the "beta" version of Samba included doesn't seem to like the use of a credentials file. If you don't have a password, or don't mind saving your password in plain text in a file this shouldn't be an issue for you.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    In your closet
    Posts
    16,270
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    soxfan, can you provide an example of what you add to the /etc/rc.local file? I'd like to give it a shot myself.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Tewksbury, MA
    Posts
    80
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    soxfan, can you provide an example of what you add to the /etc/rc.local file? I'd like to give it a shot myself.
    Sure, I actually have the following line in /etc/rc.local:
    /home/jrw/mjwsmbfs

    This is just a "script" with several lines like the following:
    Code:
    mount -t cifs -o credentials=/home/jrw/.credentials,domain=MYDOMAIN,uid=500,gid=500,\
    noperms //system/share /mnt/system-share &
    I put the "&" at the end because I found that if there is a problem with the remote server the system will hang for a while before it times out.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    In your closet
    Posts
    16,270
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks. Here's the line I'm thinking of trying. Not sure if I follow yours totally.
    Code:
    mount -t cifs -o credentials=/home/glenn/.credentials,domain=JOHNSON,uid=500,gid=500, noperms //johnbonham/temp /media/temp &
    Of course //johnbonham/temp is the folder I want to connect to and /media/temp is where I want to mount it. What about .credentials? I assume that it's a file that you created in your home folder? Do I need to use .credentials?

    Edit: Here's the line I'm actually trying:
    Code:
    mount -t cifs //johnbonham/temp /media/temp -o username=glenn,password='',uid=500,gid=500 &
    It's not working and I don't think it's because there's no credentials used. I noticed, on the last boot, a quick flash on the screen just as the system was moving from text mode to the GUI that said mount error 101: network is unreachable. As I moved to the GUI I watched NetworkManager swirl around trying to connect to my wireless.... AHA! says I. No wonder. That will never work this way.....
    Last edited by glennzo; 4th June 2008 at 12:43 AM.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Drive automount on Fedora 11
    By sandello in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 21st October 2009, 06:51 AM
  2. Automount of drives in Fedora 8
    By jjmoore27 in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 14th January 2008, 02:26 PM
  3. Fedora don't automount flash drive!
    By mwprado in forum Hardware
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 27th July 2007, 12:24 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
[[template footer(Guest)]]