Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center

Go Back   FedoraForum.org > Fedora Resources > Guides & Solutions (No Questions)
FedoraForum Search

Forgot Password? Join Us!

Guides & Solutions (No Questions) Post your guides here (No links to Blogs accepted). You can also append your comments/questions to a guide, but don't start a new thread to ask a question. Use another forum for that.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 18th July 2004, 09:17 AM
imdeemvp Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Age: 46
Posts: 8,256
DSL Connection HOW TO....

This information will guide you in setting up you DSL connection. This is intended for our newbies. There is a link at the end of this how-to containing screenshots.


1. You need the following information to set up ADSL.

A. ISP name
B. User id and password (master account)
C. Primary and secondary DNS numbers from you dsl provider (you can give them a call or get it from dsl
provider website)

2.This setup will be in graphical mode not terminal mode.

A. Go to Redhat panel

B. Go to System Tools

C. Internet Configuration Wizard (at this point you will enter root password)

D. Under the Select Device Type you will select xDSL connection and click on the forward button.

E. Under Configure DSL Connection, If ethernet card was detected at
setup it will show under Ethernet Device (if it shows leave it alone)

F. Enter PROVIDER NAME, LOGIN NAME AND PASSWORD. Click the
forward button.

G. Under Create DSL Connection click the Apply button.

H. Now you are at the Network Configuration menu. Select you isp
connection under what ever name you gave it.

I. Click on DNS tab and enter you isp primary and secondary DNS numbers and go back to Device Tab.

J. Click on EDIT button. In the General Tab you will be able to click on
Activate Device When Compute Starts.

K. In the Provider Tab you should be able to see your ISP name login
user id and password. Click OK.

L. Under FILE select SAVE and save and click OK again.


M. NOW CLICK ON ACTIVATE and it should work fine if all the correct
information was entered.

You can find this tutorial and screenshots here(i will load this up sometime today):

www.geocities.com/imdeemvp/dsl.html
__________________
HELP with JAVA, MP3's, Wireless, Repo's, YUM, Partitions, System Monitors, Nvidia, ATI drivers, LIMEWIRE PRO & MORE!.

Easiest and most friendly desktop ever is PCLinuxOS! Includes all this apps. Just try it.

"The greater the struggle THE greater the achievment."

Do you know HIM?

If you are an idiot click here. NThis will test you linux skills :D

Last edited by imdeemvp; 17th February 2005 at 09:18 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 18th July 2004, 10:47 AM
Ug Offline
Retired Community Manager
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,999


Provided of course that your ADSL modem is fully compatible.
__________________
gareth@fedoraforum.org
Registered Linux User # 301555
garethrussell.net


Please adhere to the FedoraForum Guidelines.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 18th July 2004, 11:18 AM
imdeemvp Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Age: 46
Posts: 8,256
most modems are.....at least 90% of the new hardware is...unless you still use a dinosor pc !
__________________
HELP with JAVA, MP3's, Wireless, Repo's, YUM, Partitions, System Monitors, Nvidia, ATI drivers, LIMEWIRE PRO & MORE!.

Easiest and most friendly desktop ever is PCLinuxOS! Includes all this apps. Just try it.

"The greater the struggle THE greater the achievment."

Do you know HIM?

If you are an idiot click here. NThis will test you linux skills :D
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 22nd July 2004, 02:17 PM
jacob0709 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 21
well i use dhcp to configure my internet connection and so far so good.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10th August 2004, 05:39 AM
imdeemvp Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Age: 46
Posts: 8,256
as long this helps a newbie i am happy with it
__________________
HELP with JAVA, MP3's, Wireless, Repo's, YUM, Partitions, System Monitors, Nvidia, ATI drivers, LIMEWIRE PRO & MORE!.

Easiest and most friendly desktop ever is PCLinuxOS! Includes all this apps. Just try it.

"The greater the struggle THE greater the achievment."

Do you know HIM?

If you are an idiot click here. NThis will test you linux skills :D
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 18th August 2004, 05:16 AM
shri_nath Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 13
How to use DSL connection on USB port

I have a DSL Connection with 2Wire DSL wireless modem/router.

From that modem I have an USB cable going to my USB port.

I do get the internet connection with WindowsXP.

Recently I got fed-up with Windows and installed Fedora Core 2 for dual boot.

How do I configure my internet connection? I did not have to
use ISP name and user id and password for this (and other)
computers that use this wireless modem.

Thanks.

sn
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 18th August 2004, 05:21 AM
imdeemvp Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Age: 46
Posts: 8,256
re-read the begining and at the end follow the link i provide so you can see the screenshots AND:

1. You need the following information to set up ADSL.

A. ISP name
B. User id and password (master account)
C. Primary and secondary DNS numbers from you dsl provider (you can give them a call or get it from dsl
provider website
__________________
HELP with JAVA, MP3's, Wireless, Repo's, YUM, Partitions, System Monitors, Nvidia, ATI drivers, LIMEWIRE PRO & MORE!.

Easiest and most friendly desktop ever is PCLinuxOS! Includes all this apps. Just try it.

"The greater the struggle THE greater the achievment."

Do you know HIM?

If you are an idiot click here. NThis will test you linux skills :D
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 20th August 2004, 05:13 AM
shri_nath Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 13
DSL Connection on USB port

Hi imdeemvp,

I tried all this, still I do not get connection.

After pressing the 'activate' button I get message that it could not be
activated (after some time).

I have a dual boot machine (Fedora 2 and WindowsXP). The internet connection
works when I use the WindowsXP. The DSL phone line goes into the 2Wire
wireless router. This PC does not have an ethernet card and one of its USB port
is connected to the USB output of the router via a cable.

The ethernet output of the 2Wire router is connected to another wireless LinkSys
router which supports a Mac iBook and a PC laptop (both on wireless connection).
They do not require any of this information. Also this 2Wire wireless router could be
tapped into by a wireless card (if within the range).

What could be done ?

Thanks.

sn



Quote:
Originally Posted by imdeemvp
This information will guide you in setting up you DSL connection. This is intended for our newbies.


1. You need the following information to set up ADSL.
A. ISP name
B. User id and password (master account)
C. Primary and secondary DNS numbers from you dsl provider
(you can give them a call or get it from dsl provider website)

2.This setup will be in graphical mode not terminal mode.
A. Go to Redhat panel
B. Go to System Tools
C. Internet Configuration Wizard (at this point you will enter root password)
D. Under the Select Device Type you will select xDSL connection and click on the forward button.

E. Under Configure DSL Connection, If ethernet card was detected at
setup it will show under Ethernet Device (if it shows leave it alone)

F. Enter PROVIDER NAME, LOGIN NAME AND PASSWORD. Click the
forward button.

G. Under Create DSL Connection click the Apply button.

H. Now you are at the Network Configuration menu. Select you isp
connection under what ever name you gave it.

I. Click on DNS tab and enter you isp primary and secondary DNS numbers and go back to Device Tab.

J. Click on EDIT button. In the General Tab you will be able to click on
Activate Device When Compute Starts.

K. In the Provider Tab you should be able to see your ISP name login
user id and password. Click OK.

L. Under FILE select SAVE and save and click OK again.


M. NOW CLICK ON ACTIVATE and it should work fine if all the correct
information was entered.

You can find this tutorial and screenshots here(i will load this up sometime today):

www.geocities.com/imdeemvp/dsl.html
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 20th August 2004, 05:22 AM
imdeemvp Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Age: 46
Posts: 8,256
make sure you enter the correct dns # and check login id and password and dont forget to save it!
most of the times when you connectoins fails is due to wrong settings entered...

BTW....you did not have to re-copy the tutorial.....the thread will become longer if you can edit it i will really appreciated....thanks!
__________________
HELP with JAVA, MP3's, Wireless, Repo's, YUM, Partitions, System Monitors, Nvidia, ATI drivers, LIMEWIRE PRO & MORE!.

Easiest and most friendly desktop ever is PCLinuxOS! Includes all this apps. Just try it.

"The greater the struggle THE greater the achievment."

Do you know HIM?

If you are an idiot click here. NThis will test you linux skills :D
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11th January 2005, 08:47 AM
matthias_k Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 13
So there is no shell command to start/stop a DSL connection in Fedora? Besides maybe ifup/ifdown ppp0?
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 11th January 2005, 10:13 AM
imdeemvp Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Age: 46
Posts: 8,256
Quote:
Originally Posted by matthias_k
So there is no shell command to start/stop a DSL connection in Fedora? Besides maybe ifup/ifdown ppp0?
According to this article if you setup your adsl in terminal that is how you connect using ifup/ifdown ppp0
__________________
HELP with JAVA, MP3's, Wireless, Repo's, YUM, Partitions, System Monitors, Nvidia, ATI drivers, LIMEWIRE PRO & MORE!.

Easiest and most friendly desktop ever is PCLinuxOS! Includes all this apps. Just try it.

"The greater the struggle THE greater the achievment."

Do you know HIM?

If you are an idiot click here. NThis will test you linux skills :D
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 14th January 2005, 06:33 PM
matthias_k Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 13
I just tried that and it doesn't work. Calling ifup ppp0 doesn't trigger the connection. In fact I get an error message ppp0 would not be configured.

Why doesn't Fedora utilize the adsl-* scripts?
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 15th May 2005, 01:05 PM
genus Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 6
USB Modems are not detected as Ethernet cards? Or is that just me. I have D-Link DSL 200 rev B.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 15th May 2005, 01:36 PM
tejas Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Bangalore
Age: 27
Posts: 1,574
Good HOW-TO Ideemvp!

This is how I had set up my connection a while ago, though I had to jump around trying to figure it out. Good someone documented it.

Just out of curiosity, what files does it edit.
resolv.conf holds the DNS server, but where does the IP address stay?
__________________
I Was Counted! Registered Linux User #384707

BASH && Beer && Bass! Now THAT makes sense!!
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 22nd July 2005, 01:13 PM
gr8dude Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Moldova, Chişinău
Posts: 30
PPPoE service name

I don't like cross-posting, but since this is an important topic, i'll stick it here:

Please read this post ,
it is about service names and PPPoE.
Any feedback is appreciated.
__________________
he, who found a perfect woman, is a perfect man.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
connection, dsl

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Internet connection slow, LAN connection fine tameboy Servers & Networking 45 19th July 2008 07:10 PM
Squirrelmail Immdiately dropping connection: ERROR: Connection dropped by IMAP server r6ual Servers & Networking 2 28th August 2006 02:23 PM
FC5: Problem Slow PGSQL Connection, SSH connection dunadan67 Servers & Networking 4 5th June 2006 09:42 PM
How do I get my wireless connection to see a hotel network connection margni Using Fedora 7 26th February 2006 11:57 PM
Connection refused until in network connection JJS Servers & Networking 5 2nd November 2004 07:27 PM


Current GMT-time: 07:24 (Saturday, 01-11-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Lansing Instagram Photos - Prokhladnyy - Rolandia