<---- template headericclude ----->
GRUB boot problems
FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    gonzalo76 Guest

    Unhappy GRUB boot problems

    Hi everybody,

    This is my problem:

    I have 3 partitions , 1 Windows, 2 Fedora, 3 Documents.
    In Windows, using Partition Magic, I deleted the 3rd partition, and in that place, I created two more partitions, one in NTFS and the other in FAT32. Now, in total, I have 4 partitions.

    I use GRUB installed in the MBR to boot Windows XP and Fedora Core. Everything was just fine until I deleted that 3rd partition.

    I think that I broke GRUB deleting that partition and making other partitions. Obviously, now, I can't boot any system and what appears to me is the GRUB minimal bash-like line screen.
    I read a lot about how to fix this problem, but I couldn't resolve it.

    Please, could someone help me...?

    Thank you
    gonzalo
    Last edited by gonzalo76; 28th February 2004 at 06:29 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    AU
    Posts
    738
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Insert the 1st Fedora CD and at the prompt enter linux rescue. When you get to the screen asking about how to mount your partitions, select skip becuase you don't want your partitions mounted during grub re-installation. When you get to the root prompt type:
    Code:
    chroot /mnt/sysimage
    grub
    root (hd0,1)
    setup (hd0)
    quit
    Change the (hd0,1) to the boot partition. i.e. The first number is the hard disk number and the second is the partition number.
    e.g. my /boot partition is on /dev/hda2 so my root would be: root (hd0,1) (numbering starts at 0).
    The issue a three-finger salute and hopefully thing's are back to normal.

    An equivalent command you could use is:
    Code:
    grub-install --root-directory=/boot '(hd0)'
    Note with the --root-directory option, use this if you created a /boot partition else leave it out.
    "Founding FedoraForum member and inaugural Super-Moderator"
    Registered Linux User # 348963

  3. #3
    gonzalo76 Guest
    Hi mhelios, thank you for your replie but I still couldn't fix my problem. I did exactly what you said, in my case:

    grub
    grub> root (hd0,9)
    Filesystem type is ext2fs, partition type 0x83
    grub> setup (hd0)
    Checking if "/boot/grub/stage1" exists....... no
    Checking if "/grub/stage1" exists...... yes
    Checking if "/grub/stage2" exists...... yes
    Checking if "/grub/e2fs_stage1_5" exists...... yes
    Running "embed /grub/e2fs_stage1_5 (hd0)"........ 15 sectors are embedded.
    succeded
    Running "install /grub/stage1 (hd0) (hd0) 1+15 p (hd0,9)/grub/stage2 /grub/grub.conf........ succeded
    Done
    grub> quit

    When I reboot my system, this is what I got:

    GRUB Loading stage1.5
    GRUB loading, please wait...
    Booting ' Microsoft Windows XP SP1 '
    rootnoverify (hd0,0)
    chainloader +1

    I could enter in my Windows XP automatically, but I could not see grub blue screen and obviously, I could not enter in Fedora Core.

    Did I do something wrong, or, do I have to do something else to fix my problem? I think that I have to edit my grub.conf but I don't know where it is cause I can't find it in linux rescue mode. Or maybe, GRUB is reading another grub.conf. I really don't know what's going on here...

    greetings
    gonzalo
    Last edited by gonzalo76; 28th February 2004 at 07:23 PM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    AU
    Posts
    738
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Check my post above. I forgot to add a step in: `chroot /mnt/sysimage`.

    Try this command after running the chroot:
    Code:
    grub-install /dev/hda
    If that doesn't work, attach your /etc/grub.conf file.
    "Founding FedoraForum member and inaugural Super-Moderator"
    Registered Linux User # 348963

  5. #5
    gonzalo76 Guest
    Oh yes... , finally I could do it, I could fix my problem, I mean... you could fix my problem !!!
    You save me from reinstalling Fedora !!!

    Thank you mhelios once again !!!

    Greetings
    gonzalo

  6. #6
    Bobmeister Guest
    Great that you got it solved.....I have found, that after my MBR has been changed and GRUB is no longer there, I ONLY and JUST do the last thing you were told and it always fixes the problem.

    Just reinstall GRUB with the install command and all goes back to normal. With this knowledge, you won't be afraid of messing up the MBR anymore because it can be repaired easily.

    Hoever, if Windows will not boot, you might need to repair it's MBR first using it's recovery console. Then after that is OK, you re-install grub to the MBR and all will be fine.

    MOST of the time, if the boot records get screwed up, the operating systems are just fine. it's just missing the "pointers"

  7. #7
    inanet Guest

    I stiall have a problem on boot procedure!!!

    After upgrading from fc2 to fc3.
    I can not boot linux machine, because GRUB problem.
    The machine show up a message that tells "Grub Loading stage 1.5" and "Grub loading,
    Please Wait...".
    I checked grub.conf. The file, grub.conf, is has no problem.
    Boot partition is on /dev/hda1 and root directory is on /dev/hda3.
    The kernel file and initrd files are on /boot directory.

    What should I do? I don't want to reinstall the machine.
    It makes me crazy. Please someone tells me what i have to do.

  8. #8
    DRE.ORGY.NET Guest
    Have you tried what mhelios mentioned earlier?

  9. #9
    inanet Guest

    Yes, I did.

    Yes, I have tried everything mentioned earlier.
    But, I don't have any solution in my case.

  10. #10
    inanet Guest
    Here is my grub.conf

    default=0
    timeout=10
    splashimage=(hd0,0)/boot/grub/splash.xpm.gz

    title Fedora Core (2.6.9-1.667smp)
    root (hd0,0)
    kernel /vmlinuz-2.6.9-1.667smp ro root=LABEL=/ rhgb
    initrd /initrd-2.6.9-1.667.img

    title Fedora Core (2.6.9-1.667)
    root (hd0,0)
    kernel /vmlinuz-2.6.9-1.667 ro root=LABEL=/ rhgb
    initrd /initrd-2.6.9-1.667.img


    And here is my partition information :
    /dev/hda1 /boot
    /dev/hda3 /
    /dev/hda2 /usr
    ...

    I have been waiting for someome who can helps me.

Similar Threads

  1. Problems With Grub Boot After Install
    By BenLinux in forum Installation, Upgrades and Live Media
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 17th June 2009, 08:29 PM
  2. Fedora 10 GRUB boot problems
    By SFNightfire in forum Installation, Upgrades and Live Media
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 31st December 2008, 10:58 AM
  3. Grub Boot Floppy Problems
    By 2die4 in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 20th March 2006, 03:52 PM
  4. GRUB boot problems
    By bobbymon in forum Installation, Upgrades and Live Media
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 4th May 2005, 10:14 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
[[template footer(Guest)]]