Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 4th November 2010, 11:19 AM
spookie2005 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 10
linuxfedorafirefox
No sound at all in fedora 14

Hi,

I just installed Fedora 14 and I don't have any sound at all...I mean:I don't HEAR any sound at all,but sound IS played watching pavucontrol....I tried the alsamixer and I put the sliders up from my soundcard M-Audio Delta 1010LT but no succes...I had this before when installing Fedora 13 and I tried everything I did then but no succes yet...What else can I try?

This is the output of cat /proc/asound/cards

cat /proc/asound/cards
0 [M1010LT ]: ICE1712 - M Audio Delta 1010LT
M Audio Delta 1010LT at 0xd000, irq 20

So I guess I'm close to the finish :-)

Any ideas?
  #2  
Old 4th November 2010, 01:36 PM
oldcpu Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Europe
Posts: 241
windows_xp_2003ie
Re: No sound at all in fedora 14

Please, You could provide a bit more information ? With your pc connected to the internet type:
Code:
/usr/sbin/alsa-info.sh
and select the SHARE/UPLOAD selection. That will post your PC's audio hardware/software cofiguration to an alsa web page, and it will give you the website/URL address where it is located.

Please post the URL/website address here, so that the Fedora sound experts can check your PC's audio configuration.
  #3  
Old 4th November 2010, 02:41 PM
spookie2005 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 10
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: No sound at all in fedora 14

OK,thank you,but when typing this code I get an error:"File or directory doesn't exist",when I look in that directory,indeed,I can't find that file
  #4  
Old 4th November 2010, 03:20 PM
richk Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 35
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: No sound at all in fedora 14

the path should be /usr/bin/alsa-info.sh

richk

Last edited by richk; 4th November 2010 at 03:25 PM.
  #5  
Old 4th November 2010, 03:57 PM
spookie2005 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 10
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: No sound at all in fedora 14

Quote:
Originally Posted by richk View Post
the path should be /usr/bin/alsa-info.sh

richk
http://www.alsa-project.org/db/?f=30...ec7bcbe1c24998
  #6  
Old 4th November 2010, 04:09 PM
oldcpu Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Europe
Posts: 241
windows_xp_2003ie
Re: No sound at all in fedora 14

Quote:
Originally Posted by spookie2005 View Post
I'm not familiar with an 'ICE1712 - multitrack', but I do note in that script output that practically every output control is "OFF" or volume control is at 0% (ie muted).
  #7  
Old 5th November 2010, 09:56 AM
spookie2005 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 10
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: No sound at all in fedora 14

I found the solution:I applied the same things as I used to do when I didn't have sound in earlier versions.
All is described at a sort of bugzilla-page (can't find the link back at this moment) but this is what I had to do:

edit /etc/pulse/default.pa

commend out these lines

### Automatically load driver modules depending on the hardware available
#.ifexists module-udev-detect.so
#load-module module-udev-detect
#.else
### Alternatively use the static hardware detection module (for systems that
### lack udev support)
#load-module module-detect
#.endif

Add these lines at the end of default.pa

load-module module-alsa-sink sink_name=M1010LT_Analog_Out device=hw:M1010LT channels=10 channel_map=left,right,aux0,aux1,aux2,aux3,aux4,au x5,aux6,aux7
load-module module-alsa-source source_name=M1010LT_Analog_In device=hw:M1010LT channels=12 channel_map=left,right,aux0,aux1,aux2,aux3,aux4,au x5,aux6,aux7,aux8,aux9

restart pulseaudio as normal user (i.e.pulseaudio -k then Alt+F2- pulseaudio) so I have sound now....
  #8  
Old 6th November 2010, 05:03 AM
noshortname Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 2
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: No sound at all in fedora 14

I had a problem with the sound after a fresh install of Fedora 14.
Solution was at http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/SoundTroubleshooting

More specifically: alsamixer -c 0

and then adjust the master volume.
  #9  
Old 7th November 2010, 01:55 AM
noshortname Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 2
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: No sound at all in fedora 14

I was wrong. My problem only got fixed after removing pulseaudio. So far audio out is good, and microphone seems to be working with skype too.
  #10  
Old 9th November 2010, 02:17 AM
spookie2005 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 10
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: No sound at all in fedora 14

So I had a one-time-succes,now back to start....Still no sound...
  #11  
Old 9th November 2010, 04:06 PM
kettensaege Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 1
linuxchrome
Re: No sound at all in fedora 14

Hi,

i got the same issue on a fresh install of F14 x64. I posted my ALSA Information here...

http://www.alsa-project.org/db/?f=fd...b3129013ad3bc9

On F13 x64 it worked fine!

HELP

Last edited by kettensaege; 9th November 2010 at 04:07 PM. Reason: type error
  #12  
Old 13th November 2010, 03:23 PM
pranny Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Pervasive
Posts: 15
linuxchrome
Re: No sound at all in fedora 14

Even I am facing the same issues and i followed the steps at http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/SoundTroubleshooting

http://www.alsa-project.org/db/?f=94...0f815c9104ec4b

My AlsaMixer shows the mixer volume at 100

Upon trying pulseaudio -vvvse i see this amongst other debugs
Code:
 timeout in 5 seconds.
D: module-suspend-on-idle.c: Source alsa_input.pci-0000_00_1b.0.analog-stereo becomes idle, timeout in 5 seconds.
I: module.c: Loaded "module-suspend-on-idle" (index: #13; argument: "").
I: module.c: Loaded "module-console-kit" (index: #14; argument: "").
I: module.c: Loaded "module-position-event-sounds" (index: #15; argument: "").
I: module.c: Loaded "module-cork-music-on-phone" (index: #16; argument: "").
E: main.c: Module load failed.
W: main.c: Unable to contact D-Bus: org.freedesktop.DBus.Error.NoReply: Did not receive a reply. Possible causes include: the remote application did not send a reply, the message bus security policy blocked the reply, the reply timeout expired, or the network connection was broken.
I: main.c: Daemon startup complete.
Any suggestions?
  #13  
Old 13th November 2010, 06:28 PM
spookie2005 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 10
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: No sound at all in fedora 14

My sound problem is solved...The only thing left to do was "alsactl store" How can I close this topic,thread?
  #14  
Old 13th November 2010, 07:20 PM
pranny Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Pervasive
Posts: 15
linuxchrome
Re: No sound at all in fedora 14

`Even mine is solved
  #15  
Old 14th November 2010, 09:46 PM
Letsche Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 2
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: No sound at all in fedora 14

Hi, I am having the same problem, but none of the listed fixes here work for me. If I boot up and use a F13 kernel, everything is fine. If I boot with the F14 kernel, no sound.

Running the mixer shows as if sound is there (the levels jump around), but no sound comes out the speakers. I have checked the alsa mixer to make sure everything is turned up, and stored the settings.

My alsa setup is at http://www.alsa-project.org/db/?f=80...1fd871a78cefd9

This is on an Aspire 7736Z-4088 running kernel Linux hortlette 2.6.35.6-48.fc14.x86_64 #1 SMP Fri Oct 22 15:36:08 UTC 2010 x86_64 x86_64 x86_64 GNU/Linux


lspci reports: 00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) HD Audio Controller (rev 03)

Slot: 00:1b.0
Class: Audio device
Vendor: Intel Corporation
Device: 82801I (ICH9 Family) HD Audio Controller
SVendor: Acer Incorporated [ALI]
SDevice: Device 0296
Rev: 03

lsmod|grep snd shows:
snd_hda_codec_intelhdmi 9993 1
snd_hda_codec_realtek 298211 1
snd_hda_intel 24399 4
snd_hda_codec 86743 3 snd_hda_codec_intelhdmi,snd_hda_codec_realtek,snd_ hda_intel
snd_hwdep 6392 1 snd_hda_codec
snd_seq 53791 0
snd_seq_device 6191 1 snd_seq
snd_pcm 80190 3 snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec
snd_timer 19892 2 snd_seq,snd_pcm
snd 63968 16 snd_hda_codec_intelhdmi,snd_hda_codec_realtek,snd_ hda_intel,snd_hda_codec,snd_hwdep,snd_seq,snd_seq_ device,snd_pcm,snd_timer
soundcore 6576 1 snd
snd_page_alloc 7559 2 snd_hda_intel,snd_pcm

Any ideas? I'm flummoxed. Like I said, booting into an F13 kernel and everything works fine!

Thanks for any suggestions.
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fedora 11- Sound fails, but when I run the test. it works -microsoft sound system 80 dericbytes Alpha, Beta & Snapshots Discussions (Fedora 11 Only) 1 21st April 2009 04:48 PM
fedora 8 - no sound - sound card detection test works - help! alexmachine Hardware & Laptops 7 16th May 2008 12:48 AM


Current GMT-time: 23:05 (Friday, 24-10-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Accra Travel Photos - Blumenau Travel Photos - Khomeyni Shahr Photos