Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center

Go Back   FedoraForum.org > Fedora Resources > Guides & Solutions (No Questions)
FedoraForum Search

Forgot Password? Join Us!

Guides & Solutions (No Questions) Post your guides here (No links to Blogs accepted). You can also append your comments/questions to a guide, but don't start a new thread to ask a question. Use another forum for that.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 8th November 2004, 09:53 PM
mike Offline
Retired Community Manager
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Age: 47
Posts: 199
NVIDIA for FC3

NVIDIA Install Instructions for FC3
Based on the Alternate Instructions for NVIDIA from fedorafaq.org
http://www.fedorafaq.org/custom_nvidia.html

1. Get the lastest linux drivers.

2. Now print this out, or write it down, because we're going to close X, the graphical part of Linux.

3. Open a Terminal.

4. Become root:
Code:
su -
5. Shut down X:
Code:
telinit 3
6. Now, you will have a "Login:" prompt. Log in as root and go to the directory where you downloaded the nVidia drivers.

7. Type:
Code:
sh NVIDIA-Linux-x86-1.0-6629-pkg*.run
8. Follow nVidia's instructions to set up the driver. (Read the "EDITING YOUR XF86CONFIG FILE" section.)

9. You may need to remove some conflicting files, only do this if 3d accelerated apps do not apprear to be working.
Code:
rpm -e --nodeps xorg-x11-Mesa-libGL
NOTE: If you update any "xorg-x11" package with up2date or yum, you will have to do the above command again.

10. Load nvidia driver
Code:
modprobe nvidia
11. Set nvidia driver to load with udev.
Code:
cp -a /dev/nvidia* /etc/udev/devices
Code:
chown root.root /etc/udev/devices/nvidia*
12. Reboot
__________________
Mike Basinger: mike@fedoraforum.org
Linux Registered User # 371887
"The hardest questions in life are the once worth answering."

Last edited by mike; 9th December 2004 at 10:41 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 8th November 2004, 11:35 PM
spark1 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: TLV, Israel.
Posts: 18
tnx, will try it as soon as i get my fc3 online

edit: online! ;p
__________________
Dont forget PC isn't all in life - get out and have some beer! ;)

Last edited by spark1; 9th November 2004 at 12:32 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 9th November 2004, 04:30 AM
JLF_65 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 119
For x86_64, you need to do
Code:
rpm -e --nodeps --allmatches xorg-x11-Mesa-libGL
and for either, modprobe and telinit are in /sbin, so it should be like this
Code:
/sbin/modprobe nvidia
And you don't need to reboot - you can just
Code:
/sbin/telinit 5
to get back to X.

Other than that, it's all good.

Nice summary for people new to nvidia driver installation.

Last edited by JLF_65; 9th November 2004 at 04:33 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 9th November 2004, 07:13 AM
imdeemvp Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Age: 45
Posts: 8,256
I all do is follow this instructions from nvidian and I am done in less than 5 mins. http://www.nvidia.com/object/linux_d..._1.0-6111.html
__________________
HELP with JAVA, MP3's, Wireless, Repo's, YUM, Partitions, System Monitors, Nvidia, ATI drivers, LIMEWIRE PRO & MORE!.

Easiest and most friendly desktop ever is PCLinuxOS! Includes all this apps. Just try it.

"The greater the struggle THE greater the achievment."

Do you know HIM?

If you are an idiot click here. NThis will test you linux skills :D
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 9th November 2004, 09:27 AM
spark1 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: TLV, Israel.
Posts: 18
im done with it but i wanna mention, if some1 got the same problem as i did: in the "telinit 3" part, it will be kinda 'stuck' after saying about the ancaron (FC's installer). its NOT stuck, nor thinking - just click Ctrl+C. i waiting long time for it to do something, finally went to sleep. and now came back and saw its the same.
so, dont do my mistake, tho its not big deal. greets!

by the way: "modprobe nvidia" if it worked, it means my driver is working? how do i make sure its loaded? (in gnome)
__________________
Dont forget PC isn't all in life - get out and have some beer! ;)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 9th November 2004, 02:16 PM
fritzonline Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 4
Thanks, Mike. This was the problem I was fearing most, as I had tremendous hassles with Fedora Core 2 and my GeForce.

Anyway, now I'm looking forward to getting home and installing.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 9th November 2004, 03:50 PM
bretzel Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Age: 49
Posts: 15
nvidia intallation on FC3

Thank you very Mike for that short help. Me too it was my brain killing problem in FC3.
I should have looked for help before...

I must thank the fedoraforum owner for us Fedora users, to give and get help. :-)
Your instructions guide just worked! I am now booting with the nvidia driver and now I am really happy to stop booting in rescue mode...:-)

Bretzel
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 9th November 2004, 04:10 PM
mike Offline
Retired Community Manager
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Age: 47
Posts: 199
Quote:
Originally Posted by spark1
by the way: "modprobe nvidia" if it worked, it means my driver is working? how do i make sure its loaded? (in gnome)
In a terminal windows:
Code:
lsmod
And look for nvidia in the list.
__________________
Mike Basinger: mike@fedoraforum.org
Linux Registered User # 371887
"The hardest questions in life are the once worth answering."
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 9th November 2004, 04:15 PM
mike Offline
Retired Community Manager
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Age: 47
Posts: 199
Quote:
Originally Posted by spark1
im done with it but i wanna mention, if some1 got the same problem as i did: in the "telinit 3" part, it will be kinda 'stuck' after saying about the ancaron (FC's installer). its NOT stuck, nor thinking - just click Ctrl+C. i waiting long time for it to do something, finally went to sleep. and now came back and saw its the same.
so, dont do my mistake, tho its not big deal. greets!
After you telinit 3, you can hit
Code:
ctrl-alt-F1
to goto a new terminal window.
__________________
Mike Basinger: mike@fedoraforum.org
Linux Registered User # 371887
"The hardest questions in life are the once worth answering."
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 9th November 2004, 06:16 PM
Buchan Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Calgary
Posts: 43
Well I can't say for sure yet Mike but I know things are better than last night. I just followed your instructions thru and ssh terminal from work and things look good. The machine came back up :-)

Last night after the standard nvidia install I just got to
Code:
Configuring Kernel Parameters...
and the system would hang.


Thanks a bunch looks like the thing I was missing was the
Code:
modprobe nvidia
Thanks again great Howto
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 9th November 2004, 06:44 PM
sayeeth Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Singapore
Age: 34
Posts: 661
Thanks mike, working like a charm now. Waiting eagerly for nvidia rpms.
__________________
[sayeeth@somebody ~]$ kill bill
bash: kill: bill: arguments must be process or job IDs
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 10th November 2004, 07:25 AM
steiale Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1
Does only work for single processor

Hello there,

unforunately this workaround does only work for single processor bootups. When I try to boot my system with smp kernel the nvidia driver does not work.

Anyone any idea why it is so? Any workarounds?

Thanks a lot!!

alex
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 10th November 2004, 10:09 AM
PompeyBlue Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Portsmouth, UK
Posts: 448
NVIDIA installation

Hello,

Thanks for the work around, after telinit 3 I too was stuck at starting anacron or something and I've just left my PC at home waiting for it to come back to life.

However, I have a quick query....

When I su I notice that /sbin is not in my path list. The telinit command sits in that directory and so I can't actually find it without adding it to my path list or cd'ing to it.

Do you guys all run telinit without problems ? Is my installation a bit broken ? Do you just cd /sbin ?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 10th November 2004, 03:26 PM
cscheng Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 188
I installed the nvidia drivers as described in the first post, and edited the /etc/X11/xorg.conf file as noted in the ReadMe. I rebooted the system, and instead of seeing the Red Hat Graphical Bootscreen I saw a giant NVidia-logo. This screen didn't disappear and therefore I removed the rhgb in /etc/grub.conf. Anyone have this similar problem? Since I haven't configured a lot, it's no big deal to re-install FC3 and wait for the rpms, but I'm always open for other solutions.
__________________
One hive. One mind.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 10th November 2004, 03:27 PM
stray Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by PompeyBlue
Thanks for the work around, after telinit 3 I too was stuck at starting anacron or something and I've just left my PC at home waiting for it to come back to life.
Perhaps you got dropped to the wrong console window; try hitting ALT-F1 through ALT-F5 to get another console. (ALT-F7 is usually the graphical console, when X is running).

Quote:
Originally Posted by PompeyBlue
Do you guys all run telinit without problems ? Is my installation a bit broken ? Do you just cd /sbin ?
If you "su -" instead of just "su", then you get root's environment set up for you. Without the minus sign, you retain your own path, which lacks /sbin and /usr/sbin.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fc3, nvidia

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FC11 nVidia No Sound After RPMFusion nVidia Driver Load basimmer Using Fedora 0 16th October 2009 12:46 AM
Problems installing nvidia drivers from the Nvidia Homepage (was:confused need help) leopard Using Fedora 6 19th July 2009 05:30 PM
Nvidia API Mismatch. Fedora 9 X86_64 using livna kmod-nvidia jjcf89 Hardware & Laptops 13 2nd November 2008 01:39 AM
Cannot install NVIDIA drivers NVIDIA-Linux-x86-1.0-8178-pkg1.run byhisdeeds Using Fedora 7 4th January 2006 11:52 PM
yum install nvidia-glx kernel-module-nvidia-`(uname -r)` DIDN'T WORK :( jmachine Using Fedora 16 14th July 2005 08:57 PM


Current GMT-time: 01:33 (Friday, 25-07-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat