Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center

Go Back   FedoraForum.org > Fedora Resources > Guides & Solutions (No Questions)
FedoraForum Search

Forgot Password? Join Us!

Guides & Solutions (No Questions) Post your guides here (No links to Blogs accepted). You can also append your comments/questions to a guide, but don't start a new thread to ask a question. Use another forum for that.

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 9th November 2005, 08:12 PM
tardis_junkie Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester, UK
Age: 46
Posts: 33
Smile Graveman with MP3 support - howto

Hi,

After looking into this for a while I have hopefully found a solution.

Download the SRPMS for both sox and graveman.

Install libid3tag.devel lame.devel

rebuild sox

rebuild graveman

rpm --force -Uvh sox*
rpm --force -Uvh graveman*

Run graveman and if needed rescan the external programs and you should now have mp3 support - well it workd for me.

For thos you don not wish to rebuild the RPMs I will make them available at:

http://www.tardis.dyndns.tv/sox/sox-12.17.7-3.i386.rpm
http://www.tardis.dyndns.tv/sox/sox-...7.7-3.i386.rpm
http://www.tardis.dyndns.tv/sox/grav...3.8-2.i386.rpm

These files are hosted from my home server so do not expect great download speeds, they are only small though.

Hope this helps.
  #2  
Old 9th November 2005, 08:15 PM
ilja Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Euregio
Posts: 3,613
Quote:
rpm --force -Uvh sox*
rpm --force -Uvh graveman*
If you want to keep your system, never ever do force!!
__________________
--
http://twitter.com/ik12
  #3  
Old 9th November 2005, 08:18 PM
PeTzZz Offline
Retired Community Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Tartu
Posts: 1,550
Moved to How-To Articles.

Yes, don't use force. You should remove them from your post.
  #4  
Old 9th November 2005, 08:19 PM
tardis_junkie Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester, UK
Age: 46
Posts: 33
Hi,

Being as you are essentially just replacing packages for the same versions only slightly modified it should not be a problem.

The other way would be to remove the package ignoring any dependency problems, then installing the new packages.

If this is a better solution please let me know.

Regards.
  #5  
Old 9th November 2005, 08:20 PM
ilja Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Euregio
Posts: 3,613
try it with -F
Code:
     rpm {-F|--freshen} [install-options] PACKAGE_FILE ...

       This will upgrade packages, but only if an  earlier  version  currently
       exists.  The  PACKAGE_FILE  may  be specified as an ftp or http URL, in
       which case the package will be downloaded before being  installed.  See
       FTP/HTTP  OPTIONS for information on rpm’s internal ftp and http client
       support.
__________________
--
http://twitter.com/ik12
  #6  
Old 9th November 2005, 08:24 PM
tardis_junkie Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester, UK
Age: 46
Posts: 33
I just tried using 'rpm -F' and it reports that that version is allready installed.

So as far as I know --force is the only way.

To those who do not wish to force just ignore this thread.

Regards.
  #7  
Old 9th November 2005, 08:37 PM
tardis_junkie Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester, UK
Age: 46
Posts: 33
Hi,

New url for updated graveman

http://www.tardis.dyndns.tv/sox/grav...2.4-2.i386.rpm

Regards
  #8  
Old 16th November 2005, 04:25 AM
cybrjackle Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 456
Just use yum to remove them first, and then "yum localinstall /path/to/rpms"
__________________
aka "jlc" on irc.

Main Desktop:
Rawhide x86_64
MSI K8N NEO2 Platinum
AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchester @ 2350MHz
CORSAIR XMS TWINX1024-3200C2 2GB
BFG Nvidia GeForce 6800GT OC @ 370MHz 256MB GDDR3
2x80GB SATA 150 Segate Raid 0

Last edited by Demz; 14th September 2008 at 12:34 PM.
Closed Thread

Tags
graveman, howto, mp3, support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FC5 with bcm43xx support (HOWTO) Darkmage Guides & Solutions (No Questions) 169 26th March 2008 05:55 PM
FC5 HOWTO: Mount NTFS volumes with write support strikeforce Guides & Solutions (No Questions) 106 15th November 2006 01:09 AM
Native (netkey) ipsec support in FC5 - HOWTO lavie Security and Privacy 1 13th July 2006 12:16 PM
Native (netkey) ipsec support in FC5 - HOWTO lavie Servers & Networking 0 12th July 2006 05:24 PM


Current GMT-time: 18:06 (Friday, 24-10-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Ede Travel Photos - Novomoskovsk Travel Photos on Instagram - Firuzabad