PDA

View Full Version : smbmount & FC2



xme
28th May 2004, 10:45 AM
Since I upgraded from FC1 to FC2, smbmount generates kernel error and freeze:

May 28 11:21:24 moove kernel: smb_lookup: find //.Trash-xavier failed, error=-5
May 28 11:21:24 moove kernel: Unable to handle kernel NULL pointer dereference at virtual address 00000000
May 28 11:21:24 moove kernel: printing eip:
May 28 11:21:24 moove kernel: 00000000
May 28 11:21:24 moove kernel: *pde = 00000000
May 28 11:21:24 moove kernel: Oops: 0000 [#1]
May 28 11:21:24 moove kernel: CPU: 0
May 28 11:21:24 moove kernel: EIP: 0060:[<00000000>] Not tainted
May 28 11:21:24 moove kernel: EFLAGS: 00010246 (2.6.5-1.358)
May 28 11:21:24 moove kernel: EIP is at 0x0
May 28 11:21:24 moove kernel: eax: 0a0b0d80 ebx: 1571a790 ecx: 0214edcd edx: 12fbefa0
May 28 11:21:24 moove kernel: esi: 20e7c024 edi: 033dcf80 ebp: 0a0b0d80 esp: 12fbef14
May 28 11:21:24 moove kernel: ds: 007b es: 007b ss: 0068
May 28 11:21:24 moove kernel: Process nautilus (pid: 2644, threadinfo=12fbe000 task=12d1ad30)
May 28 11:21:24 moove kernel: Stack: 22a1e976 12fbef38 00000000 20e7c000 14f12054 20ef9e18 1aa11080 0214edcd
May 28 11:21:24 moove kernel: 12fbefa0 00000000 01c06dd1 0a0b0d80 00000000 00000000 20e7c000 00000002
May 28 11:21:24 moove kernel: 00000000 00000000 00000001 00000004 00000246 22a26020 20ef9e80 0a0b0d80
May 28 11:21:24 moove kernel: Call Trace:
May 28 11:21:24 moove kernel: [<22a1e976>] smb_readdir+0x346/0x3f1 [smbfs]
May 28 11:21:24 moove kernel: [<0214edcd>] filldir64+0x0/0x12e
May 28 11:21:24 moove kernel: [<0214eaba>] vfs_readdir+0x7a/0x9b
May 28 11:21:24 moove kernel: [<0214edcd>] filldir64+0x0/0x12e
May 28 11:21:24 moove kernel: [<0214ef60>] sys_getdents64+0x65/0xaa
May 28 11:21:24 moove kernel: [<0214e26c>] generic_file_fcntl+0xd7/0x140
May 28 11:21:24 moove kernel:
May 28 11:21:24 moove kernel: Code: Bad EIP value.

I upgraded to the latest RPMS, same problem (3.0.5pre1-1)

Any idea?

deuch
28th May 2004, 01:05 PM
did you check your samba config ????

sfeek
24th July 2004, 02:26 AM
I have the exact same problem!

sfeek
24th July 2004, 03:58 AM
Here is the work around. From what I have researched it is a race condition in nautilus that causes the hang. Do this until the bug is fixed

killall -STOP nautilus
mount -t smbfs //server/share /mnt/network -o username=jdoe
killall -CONT nautilus

Works good for me!

greenleaf
5th September 2004, 01:49 PM
http://www.fedoraforum.org/forum/showpost.php?p=98102&postcount=2

I had similar trouble with samba, and I solved after reading many threads here. Above thread explains my solution.

:)

greenleaf
7th September 2004, 02:35 PM
Here is the work around. From what I have researched it is a race condition in nautilus that causes the hang. Do this until the bug is fixed

killall -STOP nautilus
mount -t smbfs //server/share /mnt/network -o username=jdoe
killall -CONT nautilus

Works good for me!

Your work around is tested with my FC2-x86-64 on Opetron.
My earier test shows that specifying fmask & dmask in the mounting command helps, but the repeatability is not very consistant as I subsequently found out.

Anyone with more details to add?

JayemdaeT
11th November 2004, 09:02 AM
Here is the work around. From what I have researched it is a race condition in nautilus that causes the hang. Do this until the bug is fixed

killall -STOP nautilus
mount -t smbfs //server/share /mnt/network -o username=jdoe
killall -CONT nautilus

Works good for me!

I use the following which may help those who want to automate this more. I created a file in /etc/samba called auth.smb and did a 'chmod 600 auth.smb'. You can type your user name and password in the file like so:

username = smith
password = whateveryourpasswordis

then open a new text file somewhere (i named mine mount-remote, but you can call it whatever) and chmod it like so: 'chmod a+x mount-remote'

type the following into the mount-remote (or whatever you named it) file:

killall -STOP nautilus
mount -t smbfs //server/share /mnt/network -o credentials=/etc/samba/auth.smb
killall -CONT nautilus

Save it and run it like an executable! (be aware you may need to be root)