PDA

View Full Version : amd 64 / fc3 / cpuinfo

feta
25th January 2005, 03:22 PM
hey guys

i ve tried to ask for help bout this matter before however i havent found the solution to my problem yet and i ve left it for a while (busy with other things)

i ve got an amilo a1630 laptop with an amd athdlon 64 3700+

i use linux and my distribution is fedora core 3 i386... i ve tried the x86_64 version
however i had some problems with compiling some 32bit applications related to my work
so i left it (i am not an expert in cross-compiling and i could find a workaround so i just returnd to my i386 distro)

well when i had the x86_64 version my /proc/cpuinfo was showing a speed around 2.4 GHz which is the expected one from this processor)
in the i386 version cpuinfo shows a stable 798.194 which does not change whether the machine has a high load or not.
* i dont use cpuspeed*

now what i think about this is:
- either cpuinfo is not so compatible with this cpu and retrieves a false reading
- i dont have an essential kernel module installed related with this cpu and the i386 distro of fc3
- or i dont know something which i have to know!

i would appreciate any help in this matter
i am not sure if this is the correct forum to post my problem, please forgive me in advance if this is the case

thanks
any help will be deeply appreciated
christos

xorbe
28th January 2005, 07:08 AM
can you disable Cool'n'Quiet in the BIOS? When I enable that, "various" OS get stuck at 1.0GHz. I guess your i386 distro is not doing the right thing, but the x86_64 did.

tajidinabd
28th January 2005, 07:19 AM
well feta try this go to ur /etc/cpuspeed.conf and add accordingly the appropriate lines here is a copy of mine. so i have a quiet laptop:

VMAJOR=1
VMINOR=1
OPTS="-i 2"
#DRIVER="powernow-k7"
OPTS="-a /proc/acpi/ac_adapter/*/state -t /proc/acpi/thermal_zone/*/temperature 75"
DRIVER=powernow-k8

make sure it looks like mine i think even though urs is a 3700 it should be the same.