Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 29th August 2016, 02:38 PM
JONOR's Avatar
JONOR Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Cornwall England
Posts: 485
linuxfedorachrome
Flatpak as a bug workaround

Discovered something interesting about installing LibreOffice Flatpak, it can be used to workaround bugs.
I've got a bug where palette is locked to default and having tried asking for help on the likes of
https://ask.libreoffice.org/en/questions/ decided to try Flatpak, also partly out of curiosity.
Via Flatpak the bug has gone, can continue to use my custom palette.

Last edited by JONOR; 5th September 2016 at 07:43 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 29th August 2016, 04:25 PM
antikythera Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 5,074
windows_98_nt_2000chrome
Re: Flatpak as a bug workaround

not surprised at all, I've been removing Fedora's version of LibreOffice and running the upstream TDF builds to stay 'fresh' since I first started using Fedora and never experienced any problems.

Fedora's build on the other that I tried during the Alpha and Beta stages of F24 was a bit buggy with regards toolbar and menu rendering. I did try reporting it but I don't recall anything coming of it.
__________________
Download, Install and Share Fedora - Official ISO Torrents | Live ISO Respins containing post-release updates
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 29th August 2016, 05:57 PM
robertdaleweir Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 847
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Flatpak as a bug workaround

Quote:
Originally Posted by antikythera View Post
not surprised at all, I've been removing Fedora's version of LibreOffice and running the upstream TDF builds to stay 'fresh' since I first started using Fedora and never experienced any problems.

Fedora's build on the other that I tried during the Alpha and Beta stages of F24 was a bit buggy with regards toolbar and menu rendering. I did try reporting it but I don't recall anything coming of it.
Hi antikythera

What do you mean by "and running the upstream TDF builds" . How does one get the "TDF build"?
__________________
Robert :)
Kernel 4.11.12-100.fc24.x86_64 Gnome Software 3.20
CPU AMD FX-6300 Six Core AM3+
MoBo Gigabyte 78LMT-USB3 AMD760G AM3+ MicroATX
Memory 8 Gigs Gskill Ripjaw DDR3-1333 PC-10666
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 29th August 2016, 06:53 PM
antikythera Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 5,074
windows_98_nt_2000chrome
Re: Flatpak as a bug workaround

one downloads the rpms from the libreoffice fresh downloads page. I prefer to use the torrent and then seed it to other peers from my computer when I'm finished downloading them via Transmission.

simple process really. I prepared a guide about it many moons ago
__________________
Download, Install and Share Fedora - Official ISO Torrents | Live ISO Respins containing post-release updates
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 29th August 2016, 08:30 PM
JONOR's Avatar
JONOR Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Cornwall England
Posts: 485
linuxfedorachrome
Re: Flatpak as a bug workaround

Just followed your guide antikythera for installing TDF builds which went successfully and has some obvious benefits over Flatpak such as quicker file and config integration.
Should say for the present 5.2.0.4 is significantly more unresponsive in Writer and slightly more unresponsive in Calc spreadsheets than 5.1.5.2.
Have decided to go back to 5.1.5.2 and wait until a higher fresh TDF download is available and maybe try that.
My original plan was to find a guide like antikytheras but Flatpak came up in the search engine result first and piqued interest.
Also, another partial workaround to aforementioned bug is remove the standard.soc from ~/.config/libreoffice/4/user/config of LO 5.1.5.2 and replace with customized standard.soc.

Last edited by JONOR; 7th September 2016 at 09:07 PM. Reason: more detail / grammar
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
bug , flatpak , workaround

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
workaround for 'BAD PASSWORD' jon80 Security and Privacy 4 22nd June 2008 10:57 AM
FC6 Bug ... Any workaround? pstrang EOL (End Of Life) Versions 1 3rd December 2006 04:25 AM
Log-in Workaround theHawkeye Using Fedora 0 15th November 2006 08:23 AM
ssh workaround? sergio_101 Servers & Networking 2 30th January 2005 05:06 PM


Current GMT-time: 00:24 (Tuesday, 24-10-2017)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat