Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center

Go Back   FedoraForum.org > Fedora Resources > Guides & Solutions (Not For Questions)
FedoraForum Search

Forgot Password? Join Us!

Guides & Solutions (Not For Questions) Post your guides here (No links to Blogs accepted). You can also append your comments/questions to a guide, but don't start a new thread to ask a question. Use another forum for that.

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #151  
Old 23rd November 2007, 10:23 PM
leigh123linux
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Arrow compiz-fusion 0.6.99 repo for F8

Many thanks to drhilbert and LordMorgui for donating the web space and bandwidth for the compiz-fusion repo



These are the latest snapshots (0.6.99)


1. Install the fusion repo

Code:
su
wget http://www.dfm.uninsubria.it/compiz/fusion/compiz-fusion.repo -O /etc/yum.repos.d/compiz-fusion.repo

2. Install compiz-fusion ( you will need to remove the fedora compiz packages first and delete /home/username/.gconf/apps/compiz )

Code:
su
yum install compiz-all fusion-icon-all compiz-fusion-plugins-unsupported compiz-bcop ccsm emerald-themes

http://www.dfm.uninsubria.it/compiz/fusion/


(03/1/2007) LordMorgui has mirrored the repo so you will need to edit to account for the changes


su
gedit /etc/yum.repos.d/compiz-fusion.repo

and change to

Code:
[fusion]
name=Compiz Fusion repository
#baseurl=http://www.dfm.uninsubria.it/compiz/fusion/$basearch/
mirrorlist=http://www.dfm.uninsubria.it/compiz/mirror-f$releasever-$basearch
enabled=1
gpgcheck=0

Last edited by leigh123linux; 3rd January 2008 at 01:36 AM.
  #152  
Old 24th November 2007, 12:11 AM
drhilbert Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Age: 41
Posts: 154
thank you leigh123 for preparing for all of us the rpms!

enjoy!
  #153  
Old 24th November 2007, 12:40 AM
Brian1 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Seymour, Indiana
Posts: 2,509
Hi leigh123, Might edit your post where the line 2. is. You have gonf and should be gconf

Brian
__________________
Distribution: RHEL 5.1 with Pieces of this and that.
Kernel 2.6.23.9, KDE 3.5.8 and KDE 4.0 beta, Plus Development src.rpm, ATI fglrx64_7_1_0-8.433-1 rpm with 3D and DRI working.
Acer 5100-5840 with webcam, ati, sdcard reader, sound, atheros based wireless, all working. Only thing not working is the memory stick reader.
  #154  
Old 24th November 2007, 12:49 AM
leigh123linux
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Ok I have a fix for the compiz-fusion error in F8

Code:
* Opening CompizConfig context
* No GLX_EXT_texture_from_pixmap with direct rendering context
... nor with indirect rendering, this isn't going to work!
* Using the GTK Interface
You will need to downgrade xorg-x11-server-Xorg

For i386

Code:
su
wget http://koji.fedoraproject.org/packages/xorg-x11-server/1.3.0.0/9.fc7/i386/xorg-x11-server-Xorg-1.3.0.0-9.fc7.i386.rpm
rpm -U --oldpackage xorg-x11-server-Xorg-1.3.0.0-9.fc7.i386.rpm

For x86_64

Code:
su
wget http://koji.fedoraproject.org/packages/xorg-x11-server/1.3.0.0/9.fc7/x86_64/xorg-x11-server-Xorg-1.3.0.0-9.fc7.x86_64.rpm
rpm -U --oldpackage xorg-x11-server-Xorg-1.3.0.0-9.fc7.x86_64.rpm

If this works OK for you you will need to ban xorg-x11-server-Xorg from updating

Code:
su
gedit /etc/yum.conf
and add this line

exclude=xorg-x11-server-Xorg

Last edited by leigh123linux; 18th February 2008 at 07:37 PM.
  #155  
Old 24th November 2007, 12:50 AM
leigh123linux
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by drhilbert
thank you leigh123 for preparing for all of us the rpms!

enjoy!
Thank you for hosting it
  #156  
Old 24th November 2007, 10:13 AM
livibetter Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Taipei
Posts: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by leigh123@linux
Try starting compiz with this command

LD_PRELOAD=/usr/lib/fglrx/libGL.so.1 fusion-icon

http://forums.fedoraforum.org/forum/...&postcount=533
For users use x86_64:
LD_PRELOAD=/usr/lib64/fglrx/libGL.so.1 fusion-icon
  #157  
Old 24th November 2007, 10:17 AM
type568 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 90
Excuse me, but I believe, this section is mostly visited by the biggest newbies. Like me myself. What actually is the software about? You give a guide on how to get it. But no word what for..

Perhaps this can be repaired.
__________________
-= Life Sux =-
  #158  
Old 24th November 2007, 10:27 AM
leigh123linux
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by type568
Excuse me, but I believe, this section is mostly visited by the biggest newbies. Like me myself. What actually is the software about? You give a guide on how to get it. But no word what for..

Perhaps this can be repaired.
Where have you been hiding for the last year +


Quote:
What is Compiz Fusion ?

(taken from AboutCompizFusion Wiki page)

Compiz Fusion is the result of a merge between the well-known Beryl composite window manager and Compiz Extras, a community set of improvements to the Compiz composite window manager. Compiz Fusion aims to provide an easy and fun-to-use windowed environment, allowing use of the graphics hardware to render each individual window and the entire screen, to provide some impressive effects, speed and usefulness. The first Compiz Fusion developer release was Compiz Fusion 0.5.2 on August 13th 2007, shortly after Compiz 0.5.2 was released. First stable release of Compiz Fusion is 0.6.0 released on October 20 2007.

Compiz Fusion is an open-source software project, meaning anyone can use it freely and contribute.

It is important to note that Compiz and Compiz Fusion are not the same thing (see: Compiz Fusion Vs Compiz). There is close co-operation between the developers of Compiz and the developers of Compiz Fusion, though ; in fact, many Compiz Fusion developers are also Compiz developers.
http://www.compiz-fusion.org/


See screenshot
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot.jpg
Views:	383
Size:	112.8 KB
ID:	14044   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot.jpg
Views:	437
Size:	167.0 KB
ID:	14045  
  #159  
Old 24th November 2007, 11:21 AM
type568 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 90
Quote:
Where have you been hiding for the last year +
According to this thread, I've been away, less then half a year.

I'm glad you remember me. I've been on Windows XP.
After some time, I have gotten an Asus F3SSeries Laptop. Which came with vista. A worse OS is quite hard to imagine. I believe it's pretty not usable until at least first service pack will be released. Example of instability: I inserted a freshly burned DVD in to it, having some video clips on it. The DVD, could not be read, perhaps, some error accrued during the burn, of which I was not aware. The system had frozen. And I made a mistake: Instead of taking out the optical disk, I held down the power button few seconds. System has shut, I turned it on. (I can't remember if i had waited the required 5 seconds, but I believe it doesn't matter as the hard discs are still fine). Windows did boot. But claimed the system is damaged, none of the windows system restore points could recover it. (Nor "most recent settings that worked" nor Safe Mode. Bye bye system & all software, I had to use backup DVD(the one with fresh system on it). Luckily it was partitioned, and having some experience with falling systems, I kept all my code on D.

Quote:
See screenshot
Wow! That explains all, a lot better then the explanations do. I go get it. Thanks for the how-to.
__________________
-= Life Sux =-
  #160  
Old 24th November 2007, 02:27 PM
wintermute000 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 37
Posts: 762
OK I've tried everything but no dice. I lose my titlebars and can't click on any windows, let alone get any effects diagnostic outputs below

[johannlo@wintermute ~]$ fusion-icon
* Detected Session: kde
* Searching for installed applications...
* NVIDIA on Xorg detected, exporting: __GL_YIELD=NOTHING
* Using the GTK Interface
* Starting Compiz
... executing: compiz --replace --sm-disable --ignore-desktop-hints ccp
* Setting window manager to KWin <--- this is where I recover it by switching back to kwin

I have installed via yum from the repos leigh123 posted and removed the default fedora packages

[johannlo@wintermute ~]$ rpm -qa | grep compiz
libcompizconfig-0.6.99-1.fc8
compiz-0.6.99-4.fc8
compiz-fusion-plugins-unsupported-0.6.99-2.fc8
compiz-all-0.6.99-4.fc8
compiz-bcop-0.6.99-1.fc8
compiz-gnome-0.6.99-4.fc8
compizconfig-backend-kconfig-0.6.99-1.fc8
compiz-fusion-plugins-main-0.6.99-2.fc8
compiz-fusion-plugins-extra-0.6.99-2.fc8
compiz-kde-0.6.99-4.fc8
compizconfig-python-0.6.99-1.fc8

here is my xorg.conf. Note I am running Nvidia 7950GT with dual head (xinerama).

# Xorg configuration created by livna-config-display

Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "Default Layout"
Screen 0 "Screen0" 0 0
Screen 1 "Screen1" RightOf "Screen0"
InputDevice "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
InputDevice "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
EndSection

Section "Files"
ModulePath "/usr/lib/xorg/modules/extensions/nvidia"
ModulePath "/usr/lib/xorg/modules"
EndSection

Section "Module"
Load "glx"
Load "extmod"
EndSection

Section "ServerFlags"
Option "AIGLX" "on"
Option "Xinerama" "1"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"

# generated from default
Identifier "Mouse0"
Driver "mouse"
Option "Protocol" "auto"
Option "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
Option "Emulate3Buttons" "no"
Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Keyboard0"
Driver "kbd"
Option "XkbModel" "pc105"
Option "XkbLayout" "us+inet"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Monitor0"
VendorName "Unknown"
ModelName "Samsung SyncMaster"
HorizSync 30.0 - 81.0
VertRefresh 56.0 - 75.0
Option "DPMS"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Monitor1"
VendorName "Unknown"
ModelName "BenQ FP91G+"
HorizSync 31.0 - 83.0
VertRefresh 56.0 - 76.0
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Videocard0"
Driver "nvidia"
VendorName "NVIDIA Corporation"
BoardName "GeForce 7950 GT"
BusID "PCI:1:0:0"
Option "TripleBuffer" "true"
Option "RenderAccel" "True"
Option "AddARGBGLXVisuals" "True"
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Videocard1"
Driver "nvidia"
VendorName "NVIDIA Corporation"
BoardName "GeForce 7950 GT"
BusID "PCI:1:0:0"
Screen 1
Option "TripleBuffer" "true"
Option "RenderAccel" "True"
Option "AddARGBGLXVisuals" "True"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "Videocard0"
Monitor "Monitor0"
DefaultDepth 24
Option "AddARGBGLXVisuals" "True"
Option "TwinView" "0"
Option "metamodes" "CRT-0: nvidia-auto-select +0+0"
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen1"
Device "Videocard1"
Monitor "Monitor1"
DefaultDepth 24
Option "AddARGBGLXVisuals" "True"
Option "TwinView" "0"
Option "metamodes" "CRT-1: nvidia-auto-select +0+0"
EndSection

Section "Extensions"
Option "Composite" "Enable"
EndSection
__________________
the phases of 'nix troubleshooting

For :eek:
:confused: | google > :D
Next
  #161  
Old 24th November 2007, 03:04 PM
Thetargos Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Mexico City, Mexico
Age: 39
Posts: 4,430
I'd try disabling the triple buffer and the Render Accel in your Xorg.conf. I remember having trouble with Render Accel at one point with FC6 and Beryl, also you only need AddARGBGLXVisuals declared once

I see you're running dual head, I'm not familiar with Compiz and AIGLX in dual head, don't have the hardware (I'm lacking that extra monitor)
__________________
If ain't broken, don't fix it! :eek:
If can be improved, go for it! :cool:

FedoraForum Community forums lurker.
Fedora user since RHL 5.2 :cool:

Last edited by Thetargos; 24th November 2007 at 03:09 PM.
  #162  
Old 24th November 2007, 03:30 PM
wintermute000 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 37
Posts: 762
Actually I added those lines manually but I'll try removing again and see. Currently running the obligatory post-fresh-install rsync from my backup drive

well it used to work in FC6 with beryl so I'm not happy with this development but hopefully a fix is round the corner (could just be the version of nvidia or xorg driver or kernel?)

The strangest thing is that it worked out of the box (?!?!) but I was changing stuff around post install and went one step too far without testing. I'll try to roll back as many x related changes (go back to single head as a test) and see what happens. No dual head = show stopper for me.
__________________
the phases of 'nix troubleshooting

For :eek:
:confused: | google > :D
Next
  #163  
Old 24th November 2007, 03:56 PM
leigh123linux
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by johannlo
OK I've tried everything but no dice. I lose my titlebars and can't click on any windows, let alone get any effects diagnostic outputs below

[johannlo@wintermute ~]$ fusion-icon
* Detected Session: kde
* Searching for installed applications...
* NVIDIA on Xorg detected, exporting: __GL_YIELD=NOTHING
* Using the GTK Interface
* Starting Compiz
... executing: compiz --replace --sm-disable --ignore-desktop-hints ccp
* Setting window manager to KWin <--- this is where I recover it by switching back to kwin

I have installed via yum from the repos leigh123 posted and removed the default fedora packages

[johannlo@wintermute ~]$ rpm -qa | grep compiz
libcompizconfig-0.6.99-1.fc8
compiz-0.6.99-4.fc8
compiz-fusion-plugins-unsupported-0.6.99-2.fc8
compiz-all-0.6.99-4.fc8
compiz-bcop-0.6.99-1.fc8
compiz-gnome-0.6.99-4.fc8
compizconfig-backend-kconfig-0.6.99-1.fc8
compiz-fusion-plugins-main-0.6.99-2.fc8
compiz-fusion-plugins-extra-0.6.99-2.fc8
compiz-kde-0.6.99-4.fc8
compizconfig-python-0.6.99-1.fc8

here is my xorg.conf. Note I am running Nvidia 7950GT with dual head (xinerama).

# Xorg configuration created by livna-config-display

Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "Default Layout"
Screen 0 "Screen0" 0 0
Screen 1 "Screen1" RightOf "Screen0"
InputDevice "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
InputDevice "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
EndSection

Section "Files"
ModulePath "/usr/lib/xorg/modules/extensions/nvidia"
ModulePath "/usr/lib/xorg/modules"
EndSection

Section "Module"
Load "glx"
Load "extmod"
EndSection

Section "ServerFlags"
Option "AIGLX" "on"
Option "Xinerama" "1"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"

# generated from default
Identifier "Mouse0"
Driver "mouse"
Option "Protocol" "auto"
Option "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
Option "Emulate3Buttons" "no"
Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Keyboard0"
Driver "kbd"
Option "XkbModel" "pc105"
Option "XkbLayout" "us+inet"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Monitor0"
VendorName "Unknown"
ModelName "Samsung SyncMaster"
HorizSync 30.0 - 81.0
VertRefresh 56.0 - 75.0
Option "DPMS"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Monitor1"
VendorName "Unknown"
ModelName "BenQ FP91G+"
HorizSync 31.0 - 83.0
VertRefresh 56.0 - 76.0
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Videocard0"
Driver "nvidia"
VendorName "NVIDIA Corporation"
BoardName "GeForce 7950 GT"
BusID "PCI:1:0:0"
Option "TripleBuffer" "true"
Option "RenderAccel" "True"
Option "AddARGBGLXVisuals" "True"
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Videocard1"
Driver "nvidia"
VendorName "NVIDIA Corporation"
BoardName "GeForce 7950 GT"
BusID "PCI:1:0:0"
Screen 1
Option "TripleBuffer" "true"
Option "RenderAccel" "True"
Option "AddARGBGLXVisuals" "True"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "Videocard0"
Monitor "Monitor0"
DefaultDepth 24
Option "AddARGBGLXVisuals" "True"
Option "TwinView" "0"
Option "metamodes" "CRT-0: nvidia-auto-select +0+0"
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen1"
Device "Videocard1"
Monitor "Monitor1"
DefaultDepth 24
Option "AddARGBGLXVisuals" "True"
Option "TwinView" "0"
Option "metamodes" "CRT-1: nvidia-auto-select +0+0"
EndSection

Section "Extensions"
Option "Composite" "Enable"
EndSection

Try deleting the old compiz config

su
rm -rf /home/*/.gconf/apps/compiz


and try this to see if it will correct the missing titlebars

emerald --replace
  #164  
Old 24th November 2007, 03:59 PM
wintermute000 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 37
Posts: 762
sorry kde user, that file / folder ain't there I looked in .kde but couldn't find an equivalent eh.
__________________
the phases of 'nix troubleshooting

For :eek:
:confused: | google > :D
Next
  #165  
Old 24th November 2007, 04:02 PM
leigh123linux
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by johannlo
Actually I added those lines manually but I'll try removing again and see. Currently running the obligatory post-fresh-install rsync from my backup drive

well it used to work in FC6 with beryl so I'm not happy with this development but hopefully a fix is round the corner (could just be the version of nvidia or xorg driver or kernel?)

The strangest thing is that it worked out of the box (?!?!) but I was changing stuff around post install and went one step too far without testing. I'll try to roll back as many x related changes (go back to single head as a test) and see what happens. No dual head = show stopper for me.
I have had two monitors working with 0.6.99 but I used twin veiw from the nvidia control panel .


Heres my xorg.conf

Code:
# Xorg configuration created by livna-config-display

Section "ServerLayout"
	Identifier     "single head configuration"
	Screen      0  "Screen0" 0 0
	InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
        InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
EndSection


Section "Files"
	ModulePath   "/usr/lib64/xorg/modules/extensions/nvidia"
	ModulePath   "/usr/lib64/xorg/modules"
EndSection


Section "ServerFlags"
	Option	    "AIGLX" "on"
	Option	    "blank time" "0"
	Option	    "standby time" "0"
	Option	    "suspend time" "0"
	Option	    "off time" "0"
	Option	    "Xinerama" "0"
EndSection


Section "InputDevice"
	Identifier  "Keyboard0"
	Driver      "kbd"
	Option	    "XkbModel" "pc105"
	Option	    "XkbLayout" "gb"
EndSection 


Section "InputDevice"
	Identifier  "Mouse0"
	Driver      "mouse"
	Option	    "Protocol" "auto"
	Option	    "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
	Option	    "Emulate3Buttons" "no"
	Option	    "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
EndSection


Section "Monitor"
	Identifier   "Monitor0"
	VendorName   "Philips"
	ModelName    "Philips 190V"
	HorizSync    30.0 - 83.0
	VertRefresh  56.0 - 76.0
	Option	    "dpms"
EndSection


Section "Device"
	Identifier  "Videocard0"
	Driver      "nvidia"
	VendorName  "nVidia Corporation"
	BoardName   "G70 [GeForce 7600 GT]"
	Option	    "DPI" "96 x 96"
	Option	    "coolbits" "1"
	Option	    "TripleBuffer" "true"
	Option	    "RenderAccel" "True"
	Option	    "AddARGBGLXVisuals" "True"
EndSection


Section "Screen"
	Identifier "Screen0"
	Device     "Videocard0"
	Monitor    "Monitor0"
	DefaultDepth     24
	SubSection "Display"
		Viewport   0 0
		Depth     24
		Modes    "1280x1024" "1280x960" "1280x800" "1280x720" "1152x864" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
	EndSubSection
EndSection


Section "Extensions"
	Option	    "Composite" "Enable"
EndSection
Closed Thread

Tags
compiz, compiz-fusion, howto

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Announcement: New repo with updated ClamAV packages for Fedora 8 [H]omer Using Fedora 2 27th July 2008 04:00 PM
preupgrade F8 official-> F9, update presto repo is wrong marko Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 1 21st May 2008 10:08 PM
F9 compiz-0.7.5 packages added to the compiz-fusion repo leigh123linux Alpha - Beta (Fedora 9 Only) 3 19th April 2008 01:08 AM
Official Fedora Core 4 Installation Guide Ug Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 26 1st December 2005 02:06 PM


Current GMT-time: 21:19 (Wednesday, 23-08-2017)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat