Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center

Go Back   FedoraForum.org > Fedora Resources > Guides & Solutions (Not For Questions)
FedoraForum Search

Forgot Password? Join Us!

Guides & Solutions (Not For Questions) Post your guides here (No links to Blogs accepted). You can also append your comments/questions to a guide, but don't start a new thread to ask a question. Use another forum for that.

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #31  
Old 11th November 2007, 09:29 PM
Jbanicar Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 76
I found a folder named "compiz" in my share folder, is that the only compiz folder that I delete before following the directions on page 1? Couldn't find one in Home, where you said it was. I'm not entirely sure how to read the directories in Linux. /home/*/.compiz... what's the star?
  #32  
Old 11th November 2007, 11:00 PM
Jbanicar Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 76
I went ahead and added Compiz-Fusion, Extras, and CCSM via the Add / Remove programs. This is the same thing ya?

The version is 0.6.0.1.fc8.i386, which I guess it slightly different form what you're talking about here. Everything installed correctly, and CCSM works, but none of the effects work at all, except for the Cube.

Is the compiz-fusion that came with Fedora (Desktop Effects) overriding those in CCSM? Because if I turn off Wobbly Windows & Cube in Desktop Effects, but they are on in CCSM, those won't work either.

Can someone clear this and my previous post up for me? Are they the same problem? Nothing has crashed, just it isn't working.

Yes, I have the correct driver and it allows me to enable Desktop Effects.
  #33  
Old 12th November 2007, 02:00 AM
sweetrain's Avatar
sweetrain Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: CANADA
Posts: 113
How do I apply these updates?

This may seem to be a stupid question, but how can I apply these updates?
Simply doing rpm -ivh so-and-so.rpm, with the same sequence of the original packages?
Quote:
Originally Posted by leigh123@linux
Updates for 0.6.99 see post #1
__________________
---------------------
Fedora 10/x86_64@
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600
4G ram
320G sATA
----------------------
  #34  
Old 12th November 2007, 02:09 AM
leigh123linux
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by sweetrain
This may seem to be a stupid question, but how can I apply these updates?
Simply doing rpm -ivh so-and-so.rpm, with the same sequence of the original packages?

Try

Extract the tar file (use rpm -U to update or you can left click and lasso the files then right click and select the software installer to install the updates )

su
cd /to/path/of/extracted/file
rpm -Uvh *rpm
  #35  
Old 12th November 2007, 02:19 AM
lighthammer Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 16
I too get the this package needs this one, blah blah blah.

I highlighted all of them and selected Software Installer. It downloaded additional files through the Package Manager. Is this normal?

This is what I got when I typed the rpm -i* command:

[smtava@localhost compiz-fusion-0.6.99.i386]$ rpm -i *rpm
error: Failed dependencies:
libdbus-qt-1.so.1 is needed by compiz-0.6.99-1.fc8.i386
libkdecorations.so.1 is needed by compiz-0.6.99-1.fc8.i386
libkdecore.so.4 is needed by compiz-0.6.99-1.fc8.i386
libDCOP.so.4 is needed by compizconfig-backend-kconfig-0.6.99-1.fc8.i386
libkdecore.so.4 is needed by compizconfig-backend-kconfig-0.6.99-1.fc8.i386
libkdefx.so.4 is needed by compizconfig-backend-kconfig-0.6.99-1.fc8.i386
libqt-mt.so.3 is needed by compizconfig-backend-kconfig-0.6.99-1.fc8.i386
glib2-devel is needed by compizconfig-python-devel-0.6.99-1.fc8.i386
libX11-devel is needed by compiz-devel-0.6.99-1.fc8.i386
libXfixes-devel is needed by compiz-devel-0.6.99-1.fc8.i386
libXrender-devel is needed by compiz-devel-0.6.99-1.fc8.i386
libXdamage-devel is needed by compiz-devel-0.6.99-1.fc8.i386
libXcomposite-devel >= 0.3 is needed by compiz-devel-0.6.99-1.fc8.i386
libXext-devel is needed by compiz-devel-0.6.99-1.fc8.i386
libXinerama-devel is needed by compiz-devel-0.6.99-1.fc8.i386
libXrandr-devel is needed by compiz-devel-0.6.99-1.fc8.i386
libSM-devel is needed by compiz-devel-0.6.99-1.fc8.i386
libpng-devel is needed by compiz-devel-0.6.99-1.fc8.i386
startup-notification-devel is needed by compiz-devel-0.6.99-1.fc8.i386
mesa-libGL-devel >= 6.5-9 is needed by compiz-devel-0.6.99-1.fc8.i386
mesa-libGLU-devel >= 6.5-9 is needed by compiz-devel-0.6.99-1.fc8.i386
libxml2-devel is needed by compiz-devel-0.6.99-1.fc8.i386
libxslt-devel is needed by compiz-devel-0.6.99-1.fc8.i386
libdrm-devel is needed by compiz-devel-0.6.99-1.fc8.i386
libDCOP.so.4 is needed by compiz-kde-0.6.99-1.fc8.i386
libdbus-qt-1.so.1 is needed by compiz-kde-0.6.99-1.fc8.i386
libkdecorations.so.1 is needed by compiz-kde-0.6.99-1.fc8.i386
libkdecore.so.4 is needed by compiz-kde-0.6.99-1.fc8.i386
libkdefx.so.4 is needed by compiz-kde-0.6.99-1.fc8.i386
libqt-mt.so.3 is needed by compiz-kde-0.6.99-1.fc8.i386
PyQt is needed by fusion-icon-qt-0.1-100.fc8.noarch
  #36  
Old 12th November 2007, 02:29 AM
leigh123linux
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by lighthammer
I too get the this package needs this one, blah blah blah.

I highlighted all of them and selected Software Installer. It downloaded additional files through the Package Manager. Is this normal?


This is what I got when I typed the rpm -i* command:

[smtava@localhost compiz-fusion-0.6.99.i386]$ rpm -i *rpm
error: Failed dependencies:
libdbus-qt-1.so.1 is needed by compiz-0.6.99-1.fc8.i386
libkdecorations.so.1 is needed by compiz-0.6.99-1.fc8.i386
libkdecore.so.4 is needed by compiz-0.6.99-1.fc8.i386
libDCOP.so.4 is needed by compizconfig-backend-kconfig-0.6.99-1.fc8.i386
libkdecore.so.4 is needed by compizconfig-backend-kconfig-0.6.99-1.fc8.i386
libkdefx.so.4 is needed by compizconfig-backend-kconfig-0.6.99-1.fc8.i386
libqt-mt.so.3 is needed by compizconfig-backend-kconfig-0.6.99-1.fc8.i386
glib2-devel is needed by compizconfig-python-devel-0.6.99-1.fc8.i386
libX11-devel is needed by compiz-devel-0.6.99-1.fc8.i386
libXfixes-devel is needed by compiz-devel-0.6.99-1.fc8.i386
libXrender-devel is needed by compiz-devel-0.6.99-1.fc8.i386
libXdamage-devel is needed by compiz-devel-0.6.99-1.fc8.i386
libXcomposite-devel >= 0.3 is needed by compiz-devel-0.6.99-1.fc8.i386
libXext-devel is needed by compiz-devel-0.6.99-1.fc8.i386
libXinerama-devel is needed by compiz-devel-0.6.99-1.fc8.i386
libXrandr-devel is needed by compiz-devel-0.6.99-1.fc8.i386
libSM-devel is needed by compiz-devel-0.6.99-1.fc8.i386
libpng-devel is needed by compiz-devel-0.6.99-1.fc8.i386
startup-notification-devel is needed by compiz-devel-0.6.99-1.fc8.i386
mesa-libGL-devel >= 6.5-9 is needed by compiz-devel-0.6.99-1.fc8.i386
mesa-libGLU-devel >= 6.5-9 is needed by compiz-devel-0.6.99-1.fc8.i386
libxml2-devel is needed by compiz-devel-0.6.99-1.fc8.i386
libxslt-devel is needed by compiz-devel-0.6.99-1.fc8.i386
libdrm-devel is needed by compiz-devel-0.6.99-1.fc8.i386
libDCOP.so.4 is needed by compiz-kde-0.6.99-1.fc8.i386
libdbus-qt-1.so.1 is needed by compiz-kde-0.6.99-1.fc8.i386
libkdecorations.so.1 is needed by compiz-kde-0.6.99-1.fc8.i386
libkdecore.so.4 is needed by compiz-kde-0.6.99-1.fc8.i386
libkdefx.so.4 is needed by compiz-kde-0.6.99-1.fc8.i386
libqt-mt.so.3 is needed by compiz-kde-0.6.99-1.fc8.i386
PyQt is needed by fusion-icon-qt-0.1-100.fc8.noarch

Yes it is normal ( they are the dependencies )


Quote:
I highlighted all of them and selected Software Installer. It downloaded additional files through the Package Manager.
This method that you used is probably the best way to install
  #37  
Old 12th November 2007, 02:30 AM
lighthammer Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 16
I get a blank white screen after installing everything and starting Compiz. What does that mean besides it's not working?
  #38  
Old 12th November 2007, 02:38 AM
leigh123linux
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by lighthammer
I get a blank white screen after installing everything and starting Compiz. What does that mean besides it's not working?

What VGA card do you have? and have you installed the 3D drivers for it ?
  #39  
Old 12th November 2007, 03:22 AM
lighthammer Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 16
I have an ATI Radeon Mobility X1400

My laptop is a Dell Inspirion 6400. When I installed Fedora 8, I checked the graphics card and it listed it correctly. However, my resolution was pretty crappy. 1024 x 768.

So, I set the video card to fglrx - vendor supplied drier for fglrx cards. I did this because I was trying to get 1280 x 800 resolution which I did.

I typed glxinfo and I get:

---------------------------
name of display: :0.0
display: :0 screen: 0
direct rendering: No (If you want to find out why, try setting LIBGL_DEBUG=verbose)
server glx vendor string: SGI

OpenGL vendor string: Mesa project: www.mesa3d.org
OpenGL rendering string: Mesa GLX Indirect
OpenGL version string: 1.4 (2.1 Mesa 7.0.2)

---------------------------

blah blah blah. Nothing more except a bunch of OpenGL extensions.


I take it that I can't run Compiz because of my card? I asked in the Laptop section if anyone has gotten particular video card to work but no response.

I did follow all of your directions and that is when I got the white screen.
  #40  
Old 12th November 2007, 03:36 AM
Jbanicar Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 76
I added CCSM / Compiz and Compiz Extras via the Add/Remove programs function because I wasn't answered on how to make sure I found the correct compiz folder to remove in regards to the steps on page1, and it installed without any problems, and I am able to access CCSM. The problem is that I think Desktop Effects is overriding CCSM, because Wobbly Windows & Desktop Cube work (the two options that are present), but none of the other effects that are turned on in CCSM work.

How do I get CCSM to take over control of the effects? When I try turning off the two effect options in Desktop Effects, and using CCSM to enable them, then Wobbly Windows & Cube wont work any more. Is there some sort of conflict?

I'm not encountering any driver issues, that all is working perfectly.


Should I use Add / Remove to uninstall all the installed compiz packages and then do steps on page1? Would that be the same as deleting them?

[update]
I unstalled all Compiz packages using Add / Remove. Is that ok?

And what would the file path look like for me to install both the packages that are on my desktop, in
su
cd /to/path/of/extracted/file
rm *debuginfo*
rpm -i *rpm

?

I'm not an experienced user... could this be explained better?

Last edited by Jbanicar; 12th November 2007 at 05:05 AM.
  #41  
Old 12th November 2007, 04:54 AM
sweetrain's Avatar
sweetrain Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: CANADA
Posts: 113
Still can not get window decorators.

Hi, leight123,
I fresh install F8 on a desktop with an All-in-wonder 9600. Got the livna fglrx installed. Everything looks OK (fglrxinfo and glxinfo). Now I DL both the packages (both the installation pkg and the update pkg). Still, the same old problem:
Code:
[root@localhost ~]# fusion-icon
 * Detected Session: gnome
 * Searching for installed applications...
 * No GLX_EXT_texture_from_pixmap with direct rendering context
 ... nor with indirect rendering, this isn't going to work!
 * Using the GTK Interface
 * Starting Compiz
 ... executing: compiz --replace --sm-disable --ignore-desktop-hints ccp --indirect-rendering --loose-binding
compiz (core) - Fatal: GLX_EXT_texture_from_pixmap is missing
compiz (core) - Error: Failed to manage screen: 0
compiz (core) - Fatal: No manageable screens found on display :0.0
Any suggestions?


Quote:
Originally Posted by leigh123@linux
Try

Extract the tar file (use rpm -U to update or you can left click and lasso the files then right click and select the software installer to install the updates )

su
cd /to/path/of/extracted/file
rpm -Uvh *rpm
__________________
---------------------
Fedora 10/x86_64@
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600
4G ram
320G sATA
----------------------

Last edited by sweetrain; 12th November 2007 at 04:58 AM.
  #42  
Old 12th November 2007, 05:35 AM
cr4ck3r Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 219
Work like a charm with i810 driver here.
Good job leigh!
Tinh.
__________________
Linux User number : 451678
Desktop:
AMD X2 3800+, ASUS M2NPV-VM, GeForce 6150 128MB (onboard), 2GB RAM Corsairs 667, ASUS VW192T LCD 19" Widescreen.
Ubuntu 8.04 (Hardy Heron) x86
------------------------
Laptop:
HP Pavilion DV 5000
Fedora 10 (Cambridge) x86
Linux Machine Number: 359564
  #43  
Old 12th November 2007, 05:50 AM
Jbanicar Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 76
Am I doing this correctly? Could someone help me?

I tried finding the compiz folder to delete first, but I was unable to find it. So, I thought about finding all the compiz packages installed by using Add / Remove programs... I un-selected those packages, and it removed them from my system.

So now I have the two packages listed on page 1 (1st one and the updates), and I don't know how to install them. Would my below command work?

Quote:
cd /home/Jbanicar/Desktop/compiz-fusion-0.6.99.i386
rm *debuginfo*
rpm -i *rpm
When I did the above in Terminal, it kept asking me if I wanted to remove origional file, etc, etc, and I don't think that is what should happen... ?

And did I even uninstall all the compiz packages, correctly, that were on my system to begin with?
  #44  
Old 12th November 2007, 07:41 AM
prranab Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: California
Posts: 2
How to run compiz-fusion on a T60 - ATI X1400

Hi,
I upgraded fc7 to fc8 yesterday and now tried to make compiz-fusion work by following the steps in post #1.
I am doing it on a Lenovo-T60 ATI X1400 setup and gettting this error when i execute fusion-icon. At this moment I don't know what I need to do ...
Code:
[root@lenovo-nb updates-i386]# fusion-icon -v
 * Detected Session: kde
 * Searching for installed applications...
 -- /usr/bin/compiz
 -- /usr/bin/kwin
 -- /usr/bin/metacity
 -- /usr/bin/xfwm4
 -- /usr/bin/gtk-window-decorator
 -- /usr/bin/kde-window-decorator
 -- /usr/bin/emerald
 -- /usr/bin/ccsm
 -- /usr/bin/emerald-theme-manager
 * Opening CompizConfig context
 * No GLX_EXT_texture_from_pixmap with direct rendering context
 ... nor with indirect rendering, this isn't going to work!
 * Using the GTK Interface
 * Starting Compiz
 ... executing: compiz --replace --sm-disable --ignore-desktop-hints ccp --indirect-rendering --loose-binding
compiz (core) - Fatal: No sync extension
 * Setting option Indirect Rendering to False
 ... executing: compiz --replace --sm-disable --ignore-desktop-hints ccp --loose-binding
compiz (core) - Fatal: No sync extension
 * Setting option Loose Binding to False
 ... executing: compiz --replace --sm-disable --ignore-desktop-hints ccp
compiz (core) - Fatal: No sync extension
My xorg.conf settings look like
Code:
Section "Module"
   Load  "i2c”
   Load  "bitmap”
   Load  "ddc”
   Load  "dri”
   Load  "extmod”
   Load  "freetype”
   Load  "glx”
   Load  "int10"
   Load  "type1"
   Load  "dbe”
EndSection

Section "DRI"
	Group        0
	Mode         0666
EndSection

Section "Extensions"
	Option	    "Composite" "Enable"
EndSection

Section "ServerFlags"
	Option	    "AIGLX" "on"
EndSection
Section "Device"
	Identifier  "aticonfig-Device[0]"
	Driver      "fglrx"
	Option	    "Centermode" "off"
	Option	    "PseudoColorVisuals" "off"
	Option	    "UseFastTLS" "0"
	Option	    "BlockSignalsOnLock" "on"
	Option	    "ForceGenericCPU" "off"
	Option	    "KernelModuleParm" "locked-userpages=0"
#	Option	    "UseInternalAGPGART" "no"
	Option	    "XAANoOffscreenPixmaps" "true"
	Option	    "OpenGLOverlay" "off"
	Option	    "VideoOverlay" "on"
	Option      "DRI"     "true"
EndSection

Last edited by prranab; 12th November 2007 at 07:52 AM.
  #45  
Old 12th November 2007, 01:18 PM
lighthammer Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 16
we have the same video card. ATI Mobility Radeon X1400. Let me know if it's working for you. I get the white screen.
Closed Thread

Tags
compiz , compiz-fusion , howto

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Announcement: New repo with updated ClamAV packages for Fedora 8 [H]omer Using Fedora 2 27th July 2008 04:00 PM
preupgrade F8 official-> F9, update presto repo is wrong marko Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 1 21st May 2008 10:08 PM
F9 compiz-0.7.5 packages added to the compiz-fusion repo leigh123linux Alpha - Beta (Fedora 9 Only) 3 19th April 2008 01:08 AM
Official Fedora Core 4 Installation Guide Ug Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 26 1st December 2005 02:06 PM


Current GMT-time: 02:19 (Tuesday, 24-10-2017)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat