Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 21st June 2006, 01:28 PM
nava Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 4
Upgrade from Fedora Core 1 to Core 5

Hi

I'm VERY new on the whole Linux so take it easy.

I had Fedora Core 1 install on a IBM Thinkpad T21 laptop, when I install it I decided to choose ALL the packages so it took I think about 2hours to install that's not to bad.

I downloaded the Cd's for Core 5, I started to Install and asked if I wanted to Upgrade, so I said yes, the problem is that's been doing the upgrade for about 1h, and the remaining time is at 750 minutes left, I can see that's working ok as on the button left I can see some details on the part been installed.

is that normal? or should I shut down the laptop and start over again and choose new install. I don't care about the stuff I had in it if it needs to format the hard drive.

Can it cause any problems if I just shut down, unplug the laptop to start over?

Some details on the Laptop are.

20gb Hard Drive
256 Mem ram.


THANKS
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 21st June 2006, 01:46 PM
tebbens Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 290
I think you should wipe your HD clean, then do a clean FC5 install.

I always use DBAN to wipe HDs, works great.
http://dban.sourceforge.net/
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 21st June 2006, 01:47 PM
nava Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 4
Thanks

That was quick, will it be ok if I cancel the Install?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 21st June 2006, 03:22 PM
rclark Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: MT USA
Posts: 842
Yes, it takes a VERY LONG TIME to upgrade .... The other gotcha is -- it doesn't work very well. I tried this (I have thread here on going from FC3 to FC5) as I wanted to keep the status quo (like upgrading Windows let you) and upshot is I just wiped and installed from scratch and lost my settings . Clean install will be much faster too.

Yes it's okay to cancel, because you are going to do a clean install from the FC5 CDs, so who cares what the 'upgrade' status is .

Hopefully you have backed up the files that you want to keep.

Here is my thread on the trials and tribulations ...

http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showthread.php?t=113370

Last edited by rclark; 21st June 2006 at 06:09 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 21st June 2006, 03:54 PM
tebbens Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 290
If you use DBAN, just use the Quick Erase Method (fill hd with zeros).
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
core, fedora, upgrade

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
yum upgrade core 3 to core 4 mirror error :( leoleMCH Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 1 18th November 2005 01:16 PM
upgrade via yum frmo fedora core 2 to fedora core 3 ccole Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 1 4th May 2005 05:21 AM
Upgrade from Fedora Core 1 to Core 2 jayeshrode Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 2 8th June 2004 05:30 PM


Current GMT-time: 21:12 (Thursday, 17-08-2017)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat